Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
Post Reply
sdelacruz
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm
Full Name: Sam De La Cruz
Contact:

RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by sdelacruz » Nov 04, 2017 12:01 am

We recently purchased a Tape Library and have been moving my Veeam Backup files to tape.
I also want to move my Office 365 Backups Files but the O365 console does not have any settings on moving them to tape.

Can anyone point me out how can I move these files and also do I need to include the Database in case I need to restore and browse for old emails or mailboxes?

Thanks in advance.

Sam

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by vmniels » Nov 04, 2017 1:03 pm

Is your VBO 365 server virtualized? You can back it up with VBR and afterwards put this backup on tape. Keep in mind VBR will notice it is a VBO server and offer restore option directly via Veeam Explorer for Exchange via the console.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

sdelacruz
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm
Full Name: Sam De La Cruz
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by sdelacruz » Nov 04, 2017 8:35 pm

My VBO is also my VBR. I have a Tape library attached to it to move the Veeam Jobs to Tape Weekly.
I did not see the O365 Jobs when I configure a Tape Backup job.
Do I need to back up those O365 jobs as File Backups? Do I need to backup any DBs for O365 jobs?

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by vmniels » Nov 04, 2017 8:49 pm

Correct, you will need to use a file to tape job if you have VBR & VBO on the same server. Just copy the VBO repository to tape and you should be good.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

pmansfield
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by pmansfield » Nov 10, 2017 3:48 pm

Kind of related to this, I've setup a File Copy job to take the O356 repo and copy it to a second B&R server in Azure.

When I run the job, I get the following error.
+++
10/11/2017 15:05:57 :: Failed to get file '\\?\Q:\O365\2014\adb.log'
The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
Failed to open file [\\?\Q:\O365\2014\adb.log] in readonly mode.
Failed to open file [\\?\Q:\O365\2014\adb.log] for reading.
read: End of file

The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
+++
I've just pointed the copy job at the top level folder that holds the O365 backup files. Is there a better way to configure it?

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by vmniels » Nov 10, 2017 3:55 pm

As I haven't tried it myself I guess the files are locked because of VBO. You can contact support for assistance here. I will do some tests as well but requesting help from support is advised.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

pmansfield
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by pmansfield » Nov 14, 2017 2:01 pm

I've raised it with support (02380530) and they say that it's expected for the log file to be locked by a VBO service. This makes it a bit difficult to backup the backup in order to follow the 3-2-1 philosophy.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: RIGHT WAY TO BACKUP OFFICE 365 Backups to Tape

Post by Mike Resseler » Nov 27, 2017 6:06 am

Correct,

If your VBO server is installed on the VBR server, I suggest that you deploy a new VM (a proxy) and store the data over there. That will allow your VBR to backup that proxy (and the data) as a VM. The item-level recovery engine will even detect that the specific VM is a VBO VM and will allow you to directly run Veeam Explorer for Exchange on it.

Brgds,
Mike

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest