Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 data
Post Reply
mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 04, 2020 2:10 pm

HI,

We have just bought 30 additional licenses. To install these additional licenses, we can use the update license option to add these licenses to our current licenses, am I correct?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3303
Liked: 660 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by nielsengelen » May 04, 2020 2:12 pm

Hi Shahin,

Correct, this should update your license.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 12, 2020 8:07 am

Hi,
Thanks for your reply,
I just received a file for 50 licenties, can I still use the update option to install the extra lics? or should we use the install option?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6024
Liked: 692 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Mike Resseler » May 12, 2020 8:11 am

Hi @mrshahini
I'm probably a bit confused but is the 50 license file correct? (So 20 + 30 extra you bought)? In that case, just use the install option

Thanks
Mike

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 12, 2020 9:01 am

Hi Mike,
Sorry for the confusion,
We already have 50 licenties and I ask my manager for more lics. Now get a file that says "veeam_backup_microsoft_office_subscription_50.lic"
I can see that the current 50 lics that we have already installed is valid untill the same time as I see for the lic file above.
Also I can see that option Update license automatically is selected.
Can I still use the update option to install the lic file that have recieved? or use the install option?


Thanks,

Update,

I can see in the email that we have recieved, my manager have asked for 50 more lics. I think we should use the install option., am I right?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6024
Liked: 692 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Mike Resseler » May 12, 2020 9:24 am

Can you ask your manager to go to the support portal for your company and check the status on the licensing? Either that new license you got has 100 users in it, but because the filename says 50 I am not sure. Normally, after you purchased additional licenses, you should be able to get those from the portal

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 12, 2020 9:29 am

HI, Mike,
Thanks alot, I will ask the manager to check the portal.

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 13, 2020 10:37 am

Hi Mike,

It looks like that something went wrong and manager was bought 50 more licenses. Now hw has merg the new 50 with the old 50 and in the portal I can see 100.
But our Veeam application console show 50 lics.
How can we install this new merged licenses?

Update,
Ok in de portal I can download the lics for 100 users, can I download this one and use the install option to install it?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6024
Liked: 692 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Mike Resseler » May 13, 2020 11:51 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, that is indeed what needs to be done. Normally that should fix it. If something is still not right, let us know

Cheers
Mike

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 13, 2020 1:33 pm

Hi Mike,
Thanks again for the reply,
I have just installed the new lics and the Veeams show 100 lics and says from this 100 lics 60 is in used, but the job that backup our mailboxs still shows we are above our license agreement! why we see this? Should we wait for the next mailbox backup?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6024
Liked: 692 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Mike Resseler » May 13, 2020 2:32 pm

Hi Shahin,

Yes, or simply run the job now manually. That should do the trick. The job is simply showing you the last state.

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 20, 2020 12:25 pm

Hi Mike,
Thanks for your reply,
We use our software to backup our mailboxs and onedrives to local repository and also the same mailboxs to Azure.
Now I can see that the Job that backup to local repository dont shows the warning aobut the licenses but the job that backup to the Azure still shows the License warning.
Any suggestion?

Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 1196
Liked: 200 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Polina » May 20, 2020 12:37 pm

Hi Shahin,

It doesn't matter which targets you use. Licenses are consumed per user, and even if the same user is being backed up to different locations it'll take only one license.

To be on the same page: You have installed a license for 100 users and backing up mailboxes and OneDrives for 60 users, correct? And with all that you are still getting notifications that your license is exceeded, right?

mrshahini
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 24, 2020 12:44 pm
Full Name: Shahin Shahini
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by mrshahini » May 20, 2020 1:26 pm

Normally I woyld say Yes to your question, and I would send you an screenshot that show ypu we have 100 licenses and 60 are in used.
BUT
Now I am really confuse because the license manager again shows the old info and says we have only 50 license and 60 is in use. What is going on here? :(

Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 1196
Liked: 200 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: additional licenses

Post by Polina » May 20, 2020 1:42 pm

Ok, then, please open a support ticket (post its ID here), and our engineers will help you to figure out what's happening there and speed up on the resolution.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests