Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 data
Post Reply
dr.Koen
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Koen Gryspeerdt
Contact:

Deleted users

Post by dr.Koen »

Hi

Deleted users keep consuming a license for 31 days, that's right? Because I see a lot of users that are deleted from Office 365 for a longer time than 31 days that are still counted as a Veeam license. What should I do to get these out of the system?

Koen

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3592
Liked: 712 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by nielsengelen »

You can use PowerShell to free up licenses with Remove-VBOLicensedUser.
https://foonet.be

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6271
Liked: 747 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by Mike Resseler »

dr. Koen,

Niels is correct. However, be aware that in order to remove the license from the user (before the 31 days) you need to remove the data from that user also. After 31 days, the license is freed and the data will also remain for that user (for as long as the retention exists)

dr.Koen
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Koen Gryspeerdt
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by dr.Koen »

Hi

Thanks for the answer. However, I don't want to remove Veeam licenses for users before the 31 day grace period has ended. The O365 licenses of these specific users have been revoked more than 31 days ago. It seems to me that Veeam did not release their license at all.

Koen

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6271
Liked: 747 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by Mike Resseler »

Koen,

That seems like something strange. However, could you check something? Is that specific user (or users) still visible in the job? And moreover, does it still protect certain data of that user? (Meaning, is mail / archive / OneDrive 4 Business / SharePoint personal site) still protected?

dr.Koen
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Koen Gryspeerdt
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by dr.Koen »

Hi,

Thanks for the response, I really appreciate it.
We have a hybrid setup and when a user leaves the company we disable the AD-account and revoke the O365-license. For example, the license of user X was revoked in June 2019. Apparently she is still counted as a Veeam license and I can still select her for a backup job. Is this normal behaviour?

Greetings,

Koen

Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 1393
Liked: 244 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by Polina »

Hi Koen,

If those users have not been excluded from backup jobs and you're still protecting their personal sites and OneDrive accounts (as Mike suggested above), then it might be a known (and fixed) issue in version 3. Please open a support case (if you didn't do it yet) and provide your case ID in this thread.

Thanks!

dr.Koen
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Koen Gryspeerdt
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by dr.Koen » 1 person likes this post

OK, I have opened a support case: 03884223.

Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 1393
Liked: 244 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: Deleted users

Post by Polina »

Hi Koen,

As I can see from the case details, the root cause is confirmed to be a known bug in v3. And since v4 is already live and has this fix included, I'd suggest you upgrade to the latest version.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests