9.5 - Backup Copy Job - Move All Backup Files to New Reposit

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

9.5 - Backup Copy Job - Move All Backup Files to New Reposit

Veeam Logoby plochner » Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:37 pm

I'm trying to setup a secondary destination for my backups. The secondary destination will be used as an archival GFS backup system, on a different repository (and a different physical drive) than the day to day backups.

I created a new Repo to store these GFS backups. When I create the Backup Copy Job, I select the brand new and empty GFS Repo in the drop down under Target, and hit Next and it tells me "Move all backup files to the new backup repository first". I can't continue with the Backup Copy Job setup.

I'm not sure what this means or why I can't continue. I don't want to move my existing backups to this new Repo, I want this new GFS Repo to store a Backup Copy of my jobs using the GFS method.

What am I missing?
plochner
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:04 am
Full Name: Phil L

Re: 9.5 - Backup Copy Job - Move All Backup Files to New Rep

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:13 am

Is that a brand new backup copy job or an existing one that has already backups stored in different repository?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 9.5 - Backup Copy Job - Move All Backup Files to New Rep

Veeam Logoby plochner » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:54 pm

Strangely, I deleted the Backup Copy Job and recreated it and it worked without error. I really don't know why it happened, the new Backup Copy Job was the exact same as the old one.
plochner
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:04 am
Full Name: Phil L

Re: 9.5 - Backup Copy Job - Move All Backup Files to New Rep

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:45 am

Based on the error provided, it looks like the backup cop job had some backups in the different repository and therefore could not be moved to the new repository without moving existing backups first.

Glad to hear that you've fixed it.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests