Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
fcambot
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2012 2:43 pm
Full Name: Florian Cambot
Location: France
Contact:

About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by fcambot » Oct 01, 2012 10:02 am

I will soon have a dedicated server for veeam, with 4x3To Near Line Sas disks, wich i intend to configure in Raid 5.
I was wondering if using a single big repository, or slicing the disk stack in 2 and using 2 repositories, would make a difference.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by dellock6 » Oct 01, 2012 10:26 am

What are your requirements for splitting repositories?
It's good for performances, since you can run multiple backups on each repository so increasing overall speed, but remember a job can only be saved in one repository, so its failure will put the backups at risk anyway. Are you looking for better performances or higher reliability of repositorie?

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

fcambot
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2012 2:43 pm
Full Name: Florian Cambot
Location: France
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by fcambot » Oct 04, 2012 11:56 am

(Sorry for responding late, i did not check the notify checkbox)
I'm looking for better performances :)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by dellock6 » Oct 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Uhm, calculations are like this, assuming 7200 rpm disks and 65%read/35%write:
2 disks in raid1: 150 frontend iops, 104 backend iops
4 disks in raid5: 300 frontend iops, 154 backend iops

(frontend iops are the maximum iops you can offer to applications accessing the storage, backend are iops going to disks).

As you can see, 4 disks raid5 has better performances.
And you will also have a bigger storage: 2 * 2 disks raid1 will give you a total of 6 Tb, a single raid5 of that 4 disks will give you 9 Tb.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

fcambot
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2012 2:43 pm
Full Name: Florian Cambot
Location: France
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by fcambot » Oct 04, 2012 2:58 pm

I was unclear, i intend to set the for disk in a single RAID5 stack, and was wondering if partitioning in 2 and using two repositories would be better than one big partition and one repository.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by dellock6 » Oct 04, 2012 3:06 pm 1 person likes this post

Ah ok.
So there is no difference, I will go for a single partition personally, so you can have much space for growing backups chains, but I do not know how big are your backups.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

fcambot
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2012 2:43 pm
Full Name: Florian Cambot
Location: France
Contact:

Re: About repository : one or several on a RAid5 cluster ?

Post by fcambot » Oct 04, 2012 3:09 pm

Compared to what i saw here, i'd say my backups are tiny :) (one set of every .vbk is slightly less than 1TB).
I'll go for a single partition, thanks for the answer.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 15 guests