Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
andybh
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Full Name: Andy Hartwell
Contact:

AD User Account LockOut

Post by andybh »

Anyone help please ! ?

I decided to move VEEAM off its VM and put it on a dedicated box (Win 2008R2). All was looking reasonably good but at some point I've obviously put in a typo.

The "new" Veeam server has no jobs configured currently but somewhere I think I must have typed the password for the account MYDOMAIN\veeam wrongly as the AD user account is getting continually locked out.

Our AD has a policy applied that will LockOut any user account after 5 failed login attempts.

Does anyone have a useful list of places I could look to correct this ?

I really don't want to have to trash the server and start again !!


Thanks,

Andy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26706
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by Gostev »

Run > services.msc > right-click Veeam scheduling service to open properties > update the account's password there. Thanks.

andybh
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Full Name: Andy Hartwell
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by andybh »

Didn't help :-( The account is still being locked out whenever I have the VEEAM server powered on.....

This is a pain as we have two servers running VEEAM and if this new one is left on it locks out the account so the other then can't back anything up - I guess I should have created two AD accounts, one for each !!

Alexey D.

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by Alexey D. »

That's a strange behavior and may be related to policy/password settings. From B&R side, it wouldn't do 5 login attemps if the password is typed correctly... Please contact our support team for assistance.

andybh
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Full Name: Andy Hartwell
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by andybh »

I'm going to work back through the server uninstalling component by component to see where its tripping up - I'm pretty convinced its user error thats caused this rather than a problem in the software.

First things to come off are Veeam Search and Windows Search Server 2010.......

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26706
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by Gostev »

You should also check if you possibly have this account specified under application-aware processing in one of your jobs.

andybh
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Full Name: Andy Hartwell
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by andybh »

No jobs configured yet on this 2nd server, thats why I'm happy to wipe it clean and start again.

Well, I say happy but there are better things to do on a Saturday ........ ;-)

andybh
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Full Name: Andy Hartwell
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by andybh »

Uninstalled all the way back to just Veeam B&R and all was well.

I've now reinstalled everything else (Enterprise Manger, Reporter, BusView, etc) EXCEPT the Search Server components.

Jobs are running now and the account is no longer being locked out.

Thanks for your help :-)

admcomputing
Service Provider
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 27, 2010 11:01 am
Full Name: ADM Computing Ltd
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by admcomputing »

Im having a similar issue.
I've reset the password on the account I use for the Veeam services, changed them in services.msc but now the account gets locked out every 3mins (5 bad attempts).
When i finally get into the Veeam B&R console, I've updated the connection credentials for the proxies, where else do i need to change the password?
This is getting really frustrating!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by foggy »

Check whether you use the same account to connect to your hosts and repositories, and also application-aware processing step in the jobs...

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5929
Liked: 1748 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: AD User Account LockOut

Post by dellock6 »

There can also be some account caching made by Windows itself... not sure, but I will try a complete reboot of the Veeam server just to be sure.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2020
Veeam VMCE #1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DonZoomik, Google [Bot], oleg.feoktistov and 37 guests