Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 90
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by crackocain » Mar 29, 2016 3:33 pm

Hi

My client have Datadomain 2500. So surebackup jobs deadly slow. Can not finished!

We are moving backups to the NAS via backup copy. But BackupCopies cannot add SureBackup jobs. Why is this restriction? Its not necessary i guess.

Could you add this feature new updates?
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5924
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by Shestakov » Mar 30, 2016 11:21 am

Hi Mehmet,
As was mentioned above, best practices imply recoverability verification before sending backups offsite.
We will take your request into account though.
Thanks!

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 90
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by crackocain » Mar 30, 2016 3:49 pm

Yeah but Surebackups can't work in Datadomain. Best practises can not relevant this situation.

My client insist to test VM's at Surebackup. How can i worked? I tried to workaround this problem via backup copy. But it can't too.

Production size about 30 TB. I have to use DDboost. Thats why i can not use CIFS repository is primary backup device.

Thanks.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

StephanF
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mar 26, 2015 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by StephanF » Mar 30, 2016 8:21 pm 1 person likes this post

+1 for Feature Request "Add Restore Points from Backup Copies to SureBackup Jobs / Application Groups"

Explanation:
I fully understand the arguments of Veeam staff that a backup should be verified directly after doing it at the source and not from a copy. And I do understand that backup copy destinations (such as deduplication appliances) can havebad performance.

BUT: Verification of backups is just one use case of SureBackup. Another important function is to fire up a virtual lab for testing something, locking at an old configuration, etc. For us it is often the case that these old restore points only are only available at the long term archive repository.

Please let the user decide if it makes sense to run a SureBackup from a backup copy. You could show a warning that performance may be degraded but do not block the user from doing magical thing with your software.

Thanks
Stephan

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5924
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by Shestakov » Mar 31, 2016 1:57 pm

Thanks for your feedback and requests, they will be taken into account.
By the way there is a possible workaround described in the thread.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 90
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by crackocain » Apr 01, 2016 4:24 pm

NOTE: repository type cannot be CIFS share.

But secondary backup device is CIFS share NAS.
Only way iSCSI disk mounted to Veeam server but i don't want to.

I suppose thats the only way right?

I think its very critical subject who upgraded backup devices NAS to Datadomain. Especially Enterprise buyers big firms and governments.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

cgranitz
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 10, 2016 7:55 pm
Full Name: Chris Granitz
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request - Surebackup with Backup Copy

Post by cgranitz » Jul 15, 2016 3:38 pm

Please consider adding an enhancement to Veeam B&R that would allow it to run Surebackup jobs against Backup Copy Job data that resides at a remote DR site. Being able to only run Surereplica jobs using replica data minimizes the confidence of the Backup Copy Job data at a remote site. Thank you. - Chris Granitz

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] SureBackup on BackupCopy data - best practive

Post by alesovodvojce » Jan 28, 2017 9:52 am

Hi,
we are copying backup data to remote repository server via Backup copy job. This server is then most of the day idle.
Can we use it to run some intensive SureBackup jobs? Or what is the best practice to test the consistency of data in remote copy location?
Regards,
Petr

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5924
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by Shestakov » Jan 28, 2017 9:55 pm

Hi Petr,
Actually best practice is not to use Surebackup for backup copies but verify recoverability prior sending the backups to the secondary repository.
Please read the thread for more information.
Thanks!

dspjones
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 04, 2012 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by dspjones » Feb 27, 2017 7:14 am 1 person likes this post

I would also like to request this feature - My use case is a bit different.

I want to be able to use Backup Copy jobs as sources for Surebackup because we use Virtual Labs for Development, Pre-Deployment Testing, Problem/Troubleshooting issues, Testing of patches and other testing scenarios where we want to use like-production systems to test against without affecting the actual production servers. Here's the problem though - We run backups 6 times per day in production. Surebackup for say our exchange vLAB takes about 1:30 to 2 hrs to full startup. Let's say I start up that lab at 11am. Because the lab depends on the backup file it will at 12pm fail and be automatically shut down when the next production backup runs at 12pm. This forces us to do things like temporary backup jobs of the servers in that lab so that they are not locking up the prod. backup files. While this works for me, it is a pain to have to do that AND an unnecessary waste of disk space. It can be a nightmare during periods when developers are asking for test labs for various things left and right. If we were able to use backup copies - I could pick copies from the DR site and have them use those all day long since the hosts, backup files and all the resources there are really not being used most of the day.

The point being SureBackup is not just a tool for testing backups (which you obviously know) - we use it mostly for the lab scenarios so it would be great to give more flexibility in this area with where you can get the servers for the application group like backup copies in addition to what's already offered.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5924
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by Shestakov » Feb 27, 2017 12:45 pm 2 people like this post

Thank you for the feedback, dspjones!
Your feature request is taken into account.

ekisner
Expert
Posts: 177
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2012 8:04 pm
Full Name: Erik Kisner
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by ekisner » May 23, 2017 6:03 pm

I would like to put my support behind this feature request as well.

We stagger our backups with different schedules, depending on how important VMs are. There is no significant amount of time during the day where a SureBackup job can run without conflicting with a backup job.

My potential solution was to use cheap storage for backup copies, once per week, allowing a full week of uninterrupted access. I recognize this does not protect from short-term issues, but it does protect from long-term issues, which is more protection than we have now. As I cannot use copy jobs for SB, it isn't an option.

wa15
Expert
Posts: 159
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by wa15 » Jun 08, 2017 6:44 pm 1 person likes this post

Also adding my request for this feature. I will not go into the details of our case but in some instances, it is not possible to perform a SureBackup of the VMs at source so being able to do this once they are off-site, it would be very useful. Particularly in our global Veeam architecture. Thanks!

BChavetnoir
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2016 2:36 pm
Full Name: Bertrand Chavetnoir
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by BChavetnoir » Sep 20, 2017 12:26 pm

Good Morning all,

Veeam Support - Case # 02311078

We are hosting many applications for Healthcare Domain. We are using DataDomain DD2500 (23 To prod site) to store all backups.
Running SureBackups from DataDomain Repository is a nightware, too slow and are not working at all.

We need to be able to test and check that all applications (Linux and Windows servers) we backup can be successfully recovered by using SureBackup.
Applications we are hosting need many servers and virtual Mabs is required to check if those applications are fully fonctionnal and recoverable.

When I use Backup Copy jobs to a separate server, I'm not able to test and use this source into Applications Groups of SureBackup jobs.
This server has 13 To Repository on a share to store only the Backup Copy jobs.

Could you please help us finding a solution ?

Many Thanks for your feedback.

Bertrand.

ekisner
Expert
Posts: 177
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2012 8:04 pm
Full Name: Erik Kisner
Contact:

Re: Add a Backup Copy Job in the SureBackup job

Post by ekisner » Sep 20, 2017 3:24 pm

BChavetnoir, while it isn't SureBackup, I would offer a work-around that I presently use.

I wrote a rather interesting script, which iterates through protected virtual machines, always choosing the least-recently checked, mounts the backup to the B&R server, then scans it with our antivirus. Interesting results, solid peace of mind, knowing that I can do a truly offline file scan where an infected system cannot use a variety of avoidance techniques.

Such a methodology could certainly be adapted to run application-specific tests. For example in the case of an SQL server, the script could run a query on the master db of the production server for a list of active databases (and relevant file locations), then iteratively mount them to a test SQL server, run a simple DBCC query. If I remember correctly DNS is just a text file (don't quote me, I haven't looked myself) so similar tests could be accomplished.

Something like AD would be hard to test, so you'd need SB for that, but it's also very easy to isolate your AD backups into separate jobs with different schedules, giving you lots of time to test each.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 35 guests