Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
WashRinseRepeat
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 19, 2016 8:34 pm
Contact:

Add Veeam User separate from active directory

Post by WashRinseRepeat » Aug 22, 2016 8:50 am

Hi,
I would like to set up a Veeam Backup Admin that can log in even when the AD Server is not available. If I select 'Add' int the users and roles window Veeam only lets me add users that exist on our AD. I would like to add a failsafe fallback user in case everything incl. the AD Server fails and can't figure out how or where.
Am I simply overlooking something?
Thank you!

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5134
Liked: 443 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Veeam User separate from active directory

Post by P.Tide » Aug 22, 2016 4:00 pm 2 people like this post

Hi,

Have you tried to add VBRHOSTNAME\Administrator user?

Thanks

WashRinseRepeat
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 19, 2016 8:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Veeam User separate from active directory

Post by WashRinseRepeat » Aug 24, 2016 4:59 am

Hi, thanks for the answer. That would work of course, I was just wondering if there were a way to have a veeam user completely independent from windows users and domain users. But if not, I'll simply add a local user to the Veeam endpoints :)

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5134
Liked: 443 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Veeam User separate from active directory

Post by P.Tide » Aug 24, 2016 9:15 am

But if not, I'll simply add a local user to the Veeam endpoints :)
Yes, you should stick with that approach.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], gummett, wishr and 57 guests