Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by EBoucq » Mar 10, 2015 6:01 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to add a vcenter appliance to the list of "managed servers" in the backup infrastructure.
What are the prerequisites ?
I have the IP address and the password for the administrator@vpshere.local account but it say the host refused the connection.

Thanks,
Eric

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23602
Liked: 1706 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 10, 2015 6:58 pm

Hi Eric,

Try to use DOMAIN\USERNAME format instead when adding you vCenter Appliance. Does it work?

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25819
Liked: 3974 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by Gostev » Mar 10, 2015 8:42 pm

Vitaly means vsphere.local\Administrator in your case.

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by EBoucq » Mar 11, 2015 7:23 am

Hi guys,

Once again, thanks for your quick reply.
I followed your advice but I get a "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:443"

Network issue maybe?

Thanks,
Eric

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23602
Liked: 1706 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 11, 2015 9:39 am

Seems like a firewall or network issue. Can you connect to the vCenter Server using vSphere Client (fat one) from the same server?

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: Addind a vcenter 5.5 appliance to Backup Infrastructure

Post by EBoucq » Mar 11, 2015 6:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Network issue !
FYI, you have to enter administrator@vsphere.local in the credentials.
Thanks again.
Eric

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], chris.childerhose, Google [Bot], RonWhy, tsukraw and 41 guests