Adding Linux server to Veeam - does it install an agent?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Adding Linux server to Veeam - does it install an agent?

Veeam Logoby braddock » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:51 pm

Hi,

I'd like to add our Production Red Hat Linux 5 server to the Veeam B&R console so that we can restore files directly to it when using the (great) File Level Recovery feature for 'other os'.

Does just adding it to the console install any agents to it in any way ? Or does Veeam just use the root credentials for that server to copy files using SCP or similar when restoring?

The reason being that this OLD server is very temperamental and HALTs easily.

Thanks!
braddock
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 3:06 pm

Re: Adding Linux server to Veeam - does it install an agent?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Hi there!

No, we do not install any agents when registering a Linux server. However we do push temporary runtime process there while you are interacting with the server for added efficiency of data exchange.

Try ps with grep veeam while performing some activity with the server, and you will see it.

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Adding Linux server to Veeam - does it install an agent?

Veeam Logoby braddock » Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:34 pm

Great thanks.
braddock
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 3:06 pm


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, NightBird and 32 guests