Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
nmdange
Expert
Posts: 479
Liked: 120 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by nmdange » Feb 14, 2019 10:30 pm

Previously, when adding a backup repository formatted as ReFS in Update 3a, you would see the "Align Data Blocks" option checked and greyed out, which confirmed Veeam recognized the repository as being ReFS-formatted and enabled for Fast Clone. Now when I go to add a ReFS volume in update 4, it doesn't seem to do this anymore. Was this an intentional change in behavior? Should I just check the box manually to enable fast clone?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25121
Liked: 3683 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by Gostev » Feb 14, 2019 10:36 pm

Not intentional, likely a UI bug - let me check.
And yes, you will want it checked.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25121
Liked: 3683 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by Gostev » Feb 15, 2019 10:22 am

Everything looks OK from our end. The check box is correctly checked and disabled upon repository creation. Perhaps you just went there too early?

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 479
Liked: 120 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by nmdange » Feb 15, 2019 2:43 pm

Hmmm, it's happening even if I try to add a new repository on a volume that I have an existing ReFS repository, so maybe something is wrong on my end. Opened case #03418143

AuGL
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2019 12:22 am
Full Name: Glenn
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by AuGL » Jun 18, 2019 10:40 pm

I'm getting the same thing happening. It's no longer checked and greyed out when going to add a new ReFS repository.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10709
Liked: 881 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by Dima P. » Jun 19, 2019 8:36 am

Hello Glenn,

Can you please clarify Veeam B&R version you are using? Thank you!

AuGL
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2019 12:22 am
Full Name: Glenn
Contact:

Re: Adding ReFS Repository in Update 4

Post by AuGL » Jun 19, 2019 9:30 am

Hello,

Nevermind I found the answer here:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4
Veeam Backup & Replication enables the Align backup file data blocks option for backup repositories with Fast Clone support after backup repositories are created. When you pass through the New Backup Repository wizard, the Align backup file data blocks check box is not selected by default. You can either select the check box or leave it empty – Veeam Backup & Replication will enable the option anyway.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ccouchman and 33 guests