Admin Share requirement to add servers

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Admin Share requirement to add servers

Veeam Logoby GhalebDweikat » Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:31 am

Hello,

At the moment, we are unable to add Windows Servers to our infrastructure if access to the Admin$ is not provided. While it is indeed a requirement to deploy Veeam agents and services to the target machine, it is still against our security policy to grant access to the Admin$.
Is it possible to explore other methods of deploying services/agents to target windows machine without requesting access to the Admin$?


Regards,
GhalebDweikat
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:26 am
Full Name: Ghaleb Dweikat

Re: Admin Share requirement to add servers

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:40 am

You can try to install the required packages manually (can be found Backup/Packages in the product installation folder).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Admin Share requirement to add servers

Veeam Logoby GhalebDweikat » Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:44 am

We attempted that with one of the support agents but without access to the admin share Veeam cannot detect the server since it tries to connect to the admin share anyways even if the packages are installed manually.
GhalebDweikat
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:26 am
Full Name: Ghaleb Dweikat

Re: Admin Share requirement to add servers

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:54 am

Hello Ghaleb,

Please make sure that all ports necessary for Veeam are accessible as mentioned in this KB article:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1518

This means the ports of the VM you want to backup on the one hand and the Veeam backup server on the other.

As read on MWPreson.net it is possible to install all the Veeam packages manually:
http://blog.mwpreston.net/2016/01/12/ma ... -services/

I'm not sure if Veeam tries to connect over the Admin$ share if any components are installed, i don't know this behaviour.

For example when you have a Veeam proxy somewere on your network, you should be able to add this server as a proxy in Veeam when you installed the necessary packages. There shouldn't be an additional try from Veeam to install the packages when the connection over the necessary ports is possible.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Admin Share requirement to add servers

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:48 am

kawiMTF wrote:I'm not sure if Veeam tries to connect over the Admin$ share if any components are installed, i don't know this behaviour.

Access to share shouldn't be required once components are installed.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 35 guests