Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
robby.vecchi
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 27, 2012 11:36 am
Full Name: Roberto Vecchi
Contact:

Advice for replica on NAS

Post by robby.vecchi »

I have two Hosts running vsphere 5.1 and VEAAM B&R 6.5 as Backup & recovery solution.

I do regular backups on QNAP NAS and i replicate VM'S between hosts local storage.
So basically i replicate host A VM's on Host B local storage and vice versa.

All VM's are thick provisioned, same are replicated VM's.

The problem comes in if i eventually try to turn on replicated VM's on the "surviving" host, due to
local storage space. I mean, i can quiet easily run out of local space.

I thougt an idea could be to replicate only critical VM's (ex DC's) between hosts, and create a replication
job that replicates other VM'S on NAS.

Could this be a good solution? Do you have any advice or working implementation on this matter?

Thanks a lot for your seggestions ad attention.

Roberto
Italy

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19475
Liked: 1768 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Advice for replica on NAS

Post by foggy »

Roberto, have you considered the ability to set the target disk type as thin in replication job properties? Could save you some space.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24273
Liked: 1866 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Advice for replica on NAS

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

robby.vecchi wrote:I thougt an idea could be to replicate only critical VM's (ex DC's) between hosts, and create a replication
job that replicates other VM'S on NAS.
To be able to replicate to a NAS device, you should connect it to one of your production hosts. If I were you I would just continue running backup jobs for all VMs and use replication jobs to replicate only mission critical VMs, pretty standard approach among our existing customers.

robby.vecchi
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 27, 2012 11:36 am
Full Name: Roberto Vecchi
Contact:

Advice for replica on NAS

Post by robby.vecchi »

Thanky you foggy for your prompt reply and suggestion.

Yes, i did consider it...but when the amount of data will be >= than the amount of local storage available?

I'm worried about a situation where i could easily fill up the disk space.

So NAS Replica is an unpracticable solution?

Thanx again.

Roberto

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5930
Liked: 1750 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Advice for replica on NAS

Post by dellock6 »

Also, DC are probably the worst example of VM that can be protected with replication, it's way easier to create two separated DCs, one per host, and replicate their data thanks to AD replica. In this way you get business continuity rather than disaster recovery.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2020
Veeam VMCE #1

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24273
Liked: 1866 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Advice for replica on NAS

Post by Vitaliy S. »

robby.vecchi wrote:So NAS Replica is an unpracticable solution?
If your NAS device can support production workload (IOPs), then it is also fine to use it as replication target.

Jonathan
Enthusiast
Posts: 69
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 15, 2009 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: Advice for replica on NAS

Post by Jonathan »

Vitaliy S. wrote:If your NAS device can support production workload (IOPs)
Which is not very likely, unless it's a rather beefy appliance with 10Gbit ethernet. Chances are, building your own x86 server with local storage and using a free copy of ESXi is not only cheaper, but also more tailored to your specific needs, more flexible and it gives you better performance.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 37 guests