Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kbystrak
Novice
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: Karl Bystrak

Advice Need on how to Setup Archival Backup Copy Jobs

Post by kbystrak »

I need someone to help me understand Backup Copy jobs. I have been using BackupExec for 16 years and Veeam for about 7 months and i am ashamed to say i need someone to hold my hand on this part of Veeam.

Here is what I have:
Hyper-V cluster with about 35 VMs. Veeam is installed on a member of the cluster with two volumes mapped via iSCSI and 10GB ethernet to two NAS devices. Each NAS has a single 36TB array formatted in ReFS. One volume for Daily backups and one volume to be used for Archival backups. Each VM has a backup job that runs 1x a day with 14 restore points. (I will probably up this to 30 restore points as I have lots of free space). Backups start each night around 6pm and end around 11pm. Synthetic full backups are created on Sundays and backup health checks run on Saturdays.

What i want:
To create backup copy jobs for each VM to retain a years worth of monthly backups and 7 years worth of yearly backups on my second NAS device. The monthly job should copy the last backup made from the month before. So the backup copy job that runs on Feb 1 should copy the backups made on Jan 31 to the archival backup location. The yearly backup job should run on Jan 1st and copy the backups from Dec 31 .

While this seems very simple, i can't figure out how to set this job up. :(