Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Gagagu
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Gagagu

Advice needed

Post by Gagagu »

Hello all,
i'm new to veeam. I need an advice what soludion is best for my requirement?
We have three esx host (2 sockets each) with virtual vcenter and dx80 SAN. Currently i am using two vmware data recovery vm's to backup the virtual machines to a second lun on the same dx80. I had tested to use a nas for backup location but the data rcovery vm's generated many errors while backing up on nas. Now i am using a second lun as backup destination. If the san will be damaged all data will be lost (no good solution). Thats the reason for looking to veeam.

As second we have a nas device (readynas) for our userdata and other business important data (cad, databases). This nas will be mirrored every night to a second nas, and a backup server, too. Every day the backup server will be save the data to a tandberg storageloader over symantec backup exec (light version from storageloader. Not able to backup from network). And weekly we save some data to a cloud (compressed and crypted).

Now i want to replace the data recovery and symantec backup exec with veeam, but what is the best solution?

My first idea is to use a veeam backup server as virtual appliance. Every host has one network adapter free and i will create a new separate network with it and connect a free nas to the same network. The veeam appliance can then backup the data to the nas. Because its not possible to connect the storageloader to the veeam applicance i would set up a second veeam backup server as a physically server to backup the busines nas data.

I have read some veeam documentations include the deployment documentation but i do not recognize my enviroment in this documentations.

What would you advice me? What is the best solution to backup my system?
By the way: I am thinking about the backup essentials enterprise license.

Thx forward
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management