Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Andrew1344
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2012 3:03 pm
Full Name: andrew
Contact:

B&R 6.0 Physical Domain Controller as Proxy

Post by Andrew1344 » Feb 24, 2012 3:44 pm

It seems I cannot Add the Physical Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Domain Controller as a server in B&R 6.0. I get the following error:

Failed to install deployment Service......

I believe it is a permission isuue. Since it is a DC, there is no local user group.

What is the work around?

Any help would be appreciated...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by foggy » Feb 24, 2012 4:08 pm

Andrew, Veeam B&R is a solution for backing up virtual machines only.

Andrew1344
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2012 3:03 pm
Full Name: andrew
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by Andrew1344 » Feb 24, 2012 4:53 pm

I was told that 6.0 now has that capability..........

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by Sethbartlett » Feb 25, 2012 2:05 am

It has the capability to make physical machines proxies, but not back them up.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24304
Liked: 3335 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by Gostev » Feb 25, 2012 7:29 am

I think this is what OP tries to do though - leverage physical machine as a proxy or repository? He does not say anything about backing it up... if this box has lots of hard drives, why not use it backup repository for example?

I agree this is probably permissions issue - I will ask QC to try to do the same on Monday, and see if there are any issues adding DC.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5355
Liked: 2190 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by tsightler » Feb 25, 2012 4:58 pm

I've used a DC as a proxy in my lab. You simply must add it using an account that has Domain Admin permissions.

ZachW
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by ZachW » Feb 25, 2012 5:53 pm

Yeah, I use a DC as my main proxy within my lab as well.. And have worked with countless other people who do the same. If you continue to run into issues just create a ticket at veeam.com/support.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by foggy » Feb 27, 2012 9:53 am

I was confused by the topic's title... :)

rfn
Expert
Posts: 131
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2010 9:43 am
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen
Contact:

Domain Controller as backup proxy

Post by rfn » Aug 10, 2012 7:24 am

[merged]

Hi,

In our DR site we have an extra Domain Controller running on DR hardware (it's still on our local LAN). I'm wondering if I could use that as a backup proxy to be able to use hot add for writes when doing replication. Right now we have to use NBD for our replication target.

Is that a bad idea?

Would it require multiple vCPU or doesn't it need to any heavy processing?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5680
Liked: 1601 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by dellock6 » Aug 11, 2012 2:51 pm

Uhm, seems moderators merged your post by mistake, two different questions :)
Anyway, on replica it's better to use virtual proxies as targets, since they can use hotadd for writing in destination datastores. You cannot use SAN mode for writes...
Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24304
Liked: 3335 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Backing Up Physical Domain Controller

Post by Gostev » Aug 11, 2012 7:23 pm

Was not me who merged this, but looks like correct merge. Both the topic above, and the merged question are about using DC as a backup proxy.

René, I don't see any issues with this approach if the DC you are talking about is virtual. Additional vCPU is always a good idea, although target proxy does not use much CPU resources unlike source one.

rfn
Expert
Posts: 131
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2010 9:43 am
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen
Contact:

Re: B&R 6.0 Physical Domain Controller as Proxy

Post by rfn » Aug 14, 2012 8:01 am

Hi,

That sounds perfect... It's of course a virtual DC :D I will try it out and monitor the CPU usage and adjust vCPU as needed. Thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 22 guests