Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17121
Liked: 1399 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by foggy » Oct 05, 2016 12:00 pm

Hi Roger, you can do this using file copy jobs. Please see above for some other hints as well.

champ_
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 18, 2014 9:20 am
Full Name: Roger
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by champ_ » Oct 28, 2016 9:46 am

And if I want to backup a Dell FS4500 NAS? Should I use file copy jobs here also? And doesn´t file copy job do full backups every time?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17121
Liked: 1399 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by foggy » Oct 28, 2016 10:04 am

Correct, file copy jobs are not incremental.

thomas321
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 11, 2017 5:05 pm
Full Name: T
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by thomas321 » Jan 12, 2017 5:48 am

+1 on CIFS
+1 on NDMP

digitalexpl0it
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2016 1:31 am
Full Name: Derrick Rose
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by digitalexpl0it » Jan 21, 2017 12:48 am

+1 NDMP
+1 CIFS

ober72
Service Provider
Posts: 382
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Full Name: Geoff Burke
Location: CANADA
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by ober72 » Jan 31, 2017 8:43 pm

+1 NDMP
+1 CIFS
Geoff Burke
Veeam Certified Architect

Matt@Work
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier
Location: North East UK
Contact:

[MERGED] Setting up a small site

Post by Matt@Work » Feb 08, 2017 3:58 pm

Hi all

I'm stuck for a method of creating a good backup routine for a small site we have with approx 20 users.

They currently have a physical DC which doubles as a fileserver. The plan is to replace it with a 1U pizza box to act as a DC, but have a storage device (Drobo 810n) to provide CIFS capability and move all the fileserver data across to it.

What I'm trying to figure out is how to back this data up with Veeam. The plan is to split the Drobo into two volumes, one with the active data, the second for the backup data. We don't have the luxury of an offsite replication solution as the site link is 256K. No tape devices on site.

How would I configure this on the Veeam management server. I want backup the data on a NAS to a second volume on the same NAS. I thought it would be straightforward, but I can't seem to square it away in my head how to do it.

Thanks

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4559
Liked: 374 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Setting up a small site

Post by PTide » Feb 08, 2017 4:39 pm

Hi,
The plan is to split the Drobo into two volumes, one with the active data, the second for the backup data.
I would recommend against keeping backups on the very same device where the data is located.
I want backup the data on a NAS<...>
You can use File Copy job.

Thank you.

Matt@Work
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier
Location: North East UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a small site

Post by Matt@Work » Feb 08, 2017 5:07 pm

PTide wrote:Hi,
I would recommend against keeping backups on the very same device where the data is located.

Thank you.
I agree, but cost constraint means my options are limited.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 370
Liked: 85 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by nmdange » Feb 08, 2017 6:54 pm

I would recommend instead of getting a NAS is running Hyper-V on the new server you are going to buy, with 1 VM as your DC and 1 VM as your file server.

Matt@Work
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier
Location: North East UK
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by Matt@Work » Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm 1 person likes this post

But then if I need to reboot the host, what does it use to authenticate itself before the VM's can start?

Matt@Work
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier
Location: North East UK
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by Matt@Work » Feb 19, 2017 2:22 pm 1 person likes this post

Actually, ignore that, its a fair idea as a HV host launches in kernel since 2012 and doesn't need a physical DC.

roland.f
Service Provider
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 11:26 am
Full Name: Roland Felber
Location: Klagenfurt, Austria
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by roland.f » Mar 21, 2017 1:29 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, this feature is still on our radar for our next releases. Thanks!
Hi Vitaly,

do you have any information on the NDMP and CIFS backup feature? Can you tell us if the feature will be released in v9.5 or v10?

Regards,
Roland

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17121
Liked: 1399 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by foggy » Mar 21, 2017 1:35 pm

Hi Roland, 9.5 was already released last year. We cannot comment on ETA for any particular feature since we do not share our roadmap.

JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Post by JoshuaPostSAMC » Mar 21, 2017 5:03 pm

+CIFS

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kapple and 49 guests