Back up a CIFS Share

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:00 pm

Hi Roger, you can do this using file copy jobs. Please see above for some other hints as well.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14310
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby champ_ » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:46 am

And if I want to backup a Dell FS4500 NAS? Should I use file copy jobs here also? And doesn´t file copy job do full backups every time?
champ_
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:20 am
Full Name: Roger

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:04 am

Correct, file copy jobs are not incremental.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14310
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby thomas321 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:48 am

+1 on CIFS
+1 on NDMP
thomas321
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:05 pm
Full Name: Thomas

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby digitalexpl0it » Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:48 am

+1 NDMP
+1 CIFS
digitalexpl0it
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:31 am
Full Name: Derrick Rose

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby ober72 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:43 pm

+1 NDMP
+1 CIFS
Geoff Burke
VMCE V9
ober72
Service Provider
 
Posts: 252
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: CANADA
Full Name: Geoff Burke

[MERGED] Setting up a small site

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:58 pm

Hi all

I'm stuck for a method of creating a good backup routine for a small site we have with approx 20 users.

They currently have a physical DC which doubles as a fileserver. The plan is to replace it with a 1U pizza box to act as a DC, but have a storage device (Drobo 810n) to provide CIFS capability and move all the fileserver data across to it.

What I'm trying to figure out is how to back this data up with Veeam. The plan is to split the Drobo into two volumes, one with the active data, the second for the backup data. We don't have the luxury of an offsite replication solution as the site link is 256K. No tape devices on site.

How would I configure this on the Veeam management server. I want backup the data on a NAS to a second volume on the same NAS. I thought it would be straightforward, but I can't seem to square it away in my head how to do it.

Thanks
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Setting up a small site

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:39 pm

Hi,

The plan is to split the Drobo into two volumes, one with the active data, the second for the backup data.
I would recommend against keeping backups on the very same device where the data is located.

I want backup the data on a NAS<...>
You can use File Copy job.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2859
Liked: 231 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Setting up a small site

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:07 pm

PTide wrote:Hi,
I would recommend against keeping backups on the very same device where the data is located.

Thank you.


I agree, but cost constraint means my options are limited.
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:54 pm

I would recommend instead of getting a NAS is running Hyper-V on the new server you are going to buy, with 1 VM as your DC and 1 VM as your file server.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 149
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm 1 person likes this post

But then if I need to reboot the host, what does it use to authenticate itself before the VM's can start?
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:22 pm 1 person likes this post

Actually, ignore that, its a fair idea as a HV host launches in kernel since 2012 and doesn't need a physical DC.
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby roland.f » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:29 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, this feature is still on our radar for our next releases. Thanks!


Hi Vitaly,

do you have any information on the NDMP and CIFS backup feature? Can you tell us if the feature will be released in v9.5 or v10?

Regards,
Roland
roland.f
Service Provider
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:26 am
Location: Klagenfurt, Austria
Full Name: Roland Felber

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:35 pm

Hi Roland, 9.5 was already released last year. We cannot comment on ETA for any particular feature since we do not share our roadmap.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14310
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Back up a CIFS Share

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:03 pm

+CIFS
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 109
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests