Backing up Active Directory ?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:04 pm

Hi all,

What's the backup service account credentials or granular privilege that is required to backup Active Directory domain controllers ?

I've been told not to use DOMAIN\Administrator so I don't know what to use now.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 621
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

I use DOMAIN\Administrator. Didn't think about it, it just works.

Of course you can create some kind of service account or so, especially when some compliance or security policies of the company have to be implemented.

Please have a look at the helpcenter, the permissions needed are explained in detail.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsp ... sions.html

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/exp ... sions.html
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 119
Liked: 27 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:44 am

Thanks Karl,

But somehow there is no Local Administrators group in the Domain Controllers, hence at the moment I'm stuck with the DOMAIN\Administrator account.
PCI compliance dictates that the high privillege account cannot be used for service / backup.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 621
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:40 pm 1 person likes this post

It's still there. You just can't do it from the GUI. Here's an article on adding users to the local administrators group on a DC via command-line.

http://www.richardawilson.com/2010/06/add-user-as-local-administrator-on.html

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 937
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:30 am

Joe,

yes, that does make sense.

It is working.

Thanks for the tips. :)
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 621
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:06 am

Joe, if I got different AD domain controller to be backed up, am I still be able to use the same AD service account from domain 1 ?

Note: This is the updated thread veeam-backup-replication-f2/backing-up-domain-controller-in-another-ad-domain-issue-t39344.html. there is no AD trust in between the two AD domain.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 621
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Backing up Active Directory ?

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:11 pm

Look at the other thread, I agree with Alex's suggestion. Open a support ticket as everything you've described in the other thread sounds like it should work.

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 937
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests