Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
kturner
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2018 6:32 pm
Full Name: Kevin Turner
Contact:

Backing up an old FoxPro Database

Post by kturner » Feb 27, 2019 3:27 pm

Hello,

I am trying to backup an application called Visual Estitrack which uses a FoxPro database.
Has anyone else attempted to backup a FoxPro database? Has anyone experienced any issues, or have any tips for doing so?

I believe there are issues that could occurring when someone is in the database at the time of the back up.
One idea I have been messing with is trying to boot anyone accessing the database before backing the database up.

Thank you for any help.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16522
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up an old FoxPro Database

Post by veremin » Feb 27, 2019 4:12 pm

Are there any FoxPro scripts or commands using which you can freeze database activity temporarily? If so, just schedule those as pre-freeze and post-thaw scripts in the backup job settings and you're good to go.

Having those scripts specified will allow you to have application-consistent backup of FoxPro db and also protect yourself against any unexpected consequences.

Thanks!

kturner
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2018 6:32 pm
Full Name: Kevin Turner
Contact:

Re: Backing up an old FoxPro Database

Post by kturner » Feb 27, 2019 6:12 pm

I haven't been able to find anything searching for anyone else who have done FoxPro backups in Veeam.
I don't think we are the first ones to back up a FoxPro database with Veeam, so I was hoping to see what others are doing to back it up.

I'm sure I could do something like net session /delete command in a script to end all connections to that machine, but I'm not sure how to prevent new connections from starting while the backups are running.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16522
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up an old FoxPro Database

Post by veremin » Feb 27, 2019 6:40 pm

I haven't seen anything about FoxPro either, but believe that there must a be way to programmatically stop the db or freeze it, and this command should be set as a pre-freeze activity.

Also, it might be worth raising the question regarding the given commands on FoxPro community.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 18 guests