Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
rhnb
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2010 2:25 pm
Full Name: Allan Nelson
Contact:

Backing up my Veeam Infrastructure

Post by rhnb » Dec 09, 2011 2:57 pm

Pre v6 I simply relied on my SAN snapshots if I ever had to recover any of my Veeam infrastructure (which then consisted of 2 Veeam Backup Servers and 2 Linux Target servers).

I now have the following (all VM's)...
1 x Veeam Backup Server (Win2008R2, SQL database on that server)
2 x Proxy Servers (Win2008R2)
2 x Repository Servers (Ubuntu Linux)

Now things have settled down (all working a treat) I thought I'd try to include this lot in my backups.

In one job I have the Linux Repository Servers which back up fine - using VMware Tools quiescence.
In another job, the Proxy Servers are fine - using Application Aware processing (the one that's currently doing the backing up fails over to Network mode, the other idle one backs up in hotadd mode).

My problem is the Veeam Backup Server itself.
I've read to turn off Application Aware processing, which I've done, but I get the following error...
"Cannot create CSoap path...."
What am I missing? I've got the proxies set to Hotadd mode, failover to Network mode.

Cheeers... allan.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up my Veeam Infrastructure

Post by Gostev » Dec 09, 2011 11:22 pm

Hi Allan, for technical issues please contact our technical support with full logs, as explained when you click New Topic. Thanks.

rhnb
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2010 2:25 pm
Full Name: Allan Nelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up my Veeam Infrastructure

Post by rhnb » Dec 10, 2011 9:32 pm

OK, but before I post a support query, basically all I'm asking is...
What's the procedure for backing up the Veeam Backup Server? Is there one?
I can back it up if I dont have either Application Aware or VMware Quiessence enabled. My issue with that is that I may as well do what I've done in the past on v5 and relied on my SAN snapshots.
If it's pertinent, my Veeam Backup Server is not used as a proxy server.
So, what 'should' work?

Cheeers... Allan.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up my Veeam Infrastructure

Post by Gostev » Dec 10, 2011 11:24 pm


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Karinne and 20 guests