Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:22 pm

Hi
We are trying customer back up to the cloud connect.
One backup job, Extreme compression 30 retention point.
At the start we are set Backup Copy "copy every" setting is 60 days. Because i dont want to start every day and i dont want to distrupt the full backup upload. So i think when the full backup upload is finished, then copy every set to 1 day. And i want to upload 1 restore point at start. Because i dont want to upload incrementals at the start. So backup copy restore point is 1.

Full backup is uploaded. After that i changed to copy every settings 60 to 1 days, and retention point setting to 1 to 7 retention point.

But restore points doesn't add up! I'm wait 7 days but nothing changed. Only 1 restore point and i look at the Veeam Cloud Connect Provider Console backup copy job still running 150 hours. Nothing uploaded. Data send and receive is zero.

I'm configuring about six client set this settings. All of them experiencing this issue.

Can i open the case or am i missing something?

Thanks.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:23 pm

Hi, you're overthinking this. Just set the interval to 1 day right away - Backup Copy jobs is smart enough to handle the initial full correctly, without restarting it every day etc.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:49 pm

Hi Gostev

Yeah i assume but i curious about i changed the intervals to 1 day, why only i see 1 restore point.

In Turkey upload speeds are terrible. So we are overthink a lot :)
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:36 pm

Yeah I'm definitely sure Backup Copy has bug.

I'm created new backup copy job. Then interval to 1 day.
24 hours later backup copy job stopped!
Why stopped? Full backup upload not finished

Image
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:20 pm

And click re sync option. Is this expected behaviour?

Image
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby Technogod » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:30 pm

If copy interval is set to one day it starts a new copy interval at midnight and waits for the next restore point. Both the previous and new restore points will be copied during the next copy interval.
Technogod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 74
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:34 pm

Yeah i assume but why cancelled working copy job?

This process increase the job time. Gostev said "Backup Copy jobs is smart enough to handle the initial full correctly, without restarting it every day etc."

Clearly this is not working.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:13 pm

It's by design behaviour. Interval expired and processing stopped. After that, new interval will be started. During this interval a backup copy job will try to copy previously uncopied data, plus generated changes. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13293
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:57 pm

Anton meant the fact that the transfer is resumed, not started from scratch each time. Anyway, to your original issue described in the first post, are you sure there were new restore points on the source backup repository within the configured copy interval (1 day)? Feel free to ask support for a closer review of your setup.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:07 pm

Hi Alexander, Vladimir

Thanks for your explanation. If transfer is resumed no problem. Because backup jobs started also stopped the backup copy jobs and this. Create misunderstaning :)

Another subject;
At first I'm created backup copy interval 60 days and 1 restore point.
Upload finished i changed the interval 1 day 14 restore point.
Backup copy job upload latest restore point but restore point don't add up.

Case #02263471 was created.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:51 pm

Backup copy job upload latest restore point but restore point don't add up.

What do you mean by "restore points don't add up"? Did you expect do get difference (14 RP - 1 RP = 13 RP) immediately? If so, be aware that is not how backup copy job works.

Backup copy job doesn't copy backup chain as a whole, but rather synthetically creates required restore points in "target" location from VM data in source backup repositories. So, within copy interval backup copy job creates only one restore point. You will have to wait, till the specified retention is reached (14 bcj cycles).

Thanks
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13293
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:59 pm

I'm recreated backup jobs copy 1 days interval restore points will be fine. Adding up one by one.

But if i'm created backup copy interval 60. And full backup upload i changed the value to 1. Restore point always 1. Next day, and the next day, i tried next 7 days, always 1 latest restore point.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:06 pm

You're saying that after copy interval modification, backup copy job preserves only one restore point and that's it, right? Kindly, keep working with our support team on addressing that. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13293
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup Copy Settings - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:12 pm

Yeah that's right. I'm set copy interval to 1 day but I'see Cloud connect admin console backup copy jobs running 114:23:45.

I'm setting to 1 but i think backup copy jobs behaviour is still 60 days. I think 60 days later restore point is 2. 120 days later 3 :)
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ChrisSnell, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 48 guests