Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
timofcourse
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 28, 2011 5:18 pm
Full Name: Tim Graffam
Contact:

Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by timofcourse » May 11, 2018 6:25 pm

Hi there
One of our backup jobs recently started failing to backup a specific VM with the following error code:
Processing XXX: Failed to call RPC function 'Vss.GetFileFromGADir': Error code: 0x80070070. Failed to invoke func [GetFileFromGADir]: There is not enough space on the disk.. Cannot copy file. Source file: [\\XXX\ADMIN$\VeeamVssSupport\metadata\VSS\BackupComponents.xml]. Target file: [C:\Windows\{d8170b78-6e1d-4d7c-8c99-9a0159380e1c}\BackupComponents.xml]. CopyFile() failed. Win32 error:There is not enough space on the disk. Code: 112.
The thing is, this server has more than 15GB free. If it matters, this is also our vCenter server VM. Finally, I think this error started occurring after we changed the job's Backup Mode from Reverse to Incremental earlier this week, but can't be 100%.

Any thoughts from the community before we open a ticket with Veeam support?

Thanks!

dst
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 09, 2011 2:17 pm
Full Name: Denis DI SANTO
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by dst » May 13, 2018 8:39 am

Hi,
I have exactly the same issue since le last microsoft update !!! (friday)
Some servers (not all) have the issue but disk have many free space...I have made no change in bakup, only MS update on friday...

If anyone have an idea ?

Thanks.

dst
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 09, 2011 2:17 pm
Full Name: Denis DI SANTO
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by dst » May 13, 2018 8:56 am

Hi,

I have open a case, i'm waiting for the response.

Best regards.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by foggy » May 14, 2018 4:44 pm

Yes, opening a case is always recommended in such cases. Thanks.

timofcourse
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 28, 2011 5:18 pm
Full Name: Tim Graffam
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by timofcourse » May 15, 2018 3:15 pm

Glad to hear I'm not the only one. Ill do the same.

Thanks.

dspjones
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 04, 2012 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by dspjones » Jun 04, 2018 2:57 pm

any resolution to this? I have the same issue too on 1 job. Both the server being backed up and the veeam server, the proxies, and the repository have plenty of space.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16541
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk spac

Post by veremin » Jun 04, 2018 6:09 pm

What's your support ticket ID? Thanks.

mboucher87
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 07, 2018 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by mboucher87 » Jun 01, 2019 7:51 am

What was the resolution to this? Having same issue

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 173
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by NightBird » Jun 01, 2019 1:36 pm

Backup to cifs share ? (Qnap or syno ?)

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by csydas » Jun 01, 2019 7:59 pm

Hi all,

We had this, and it was the Guest Interaction Proxy we were using that filled up. I can't remember what did it, but for us we checked the sysvol and it was fullup.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by foggy » Jun 03, 2019 11:52 am

Anyway, there's no single case ID in the thread, so we cannot check the solution. Feel free to contact support directly to verify your installation.

mboucher87
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 07, 2018 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by mboucher87 » Jun 03, 2019 9:23 pm

csydas wrote:
Jun 01, 2019 7:59 pm
Hi all,

We had this, and it was the Guest Interaction Proxy we were using that filled up. I can't remember what did it, but for us we checked the sysvol and it was fullup.
Thanks, that's what it was! Would be great if they could include in the error message that it's the proxy that's out of space!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16541
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by veremin » Jun 05, 2019 12:22 pm

And what machine was mentioned in the error log?
[\\MachineName\ADMIN$\VeeamVssSupport\metadata\VSS\BackupComponents.xml]
Thanks!

mboucher87
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 07, 2018 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup job (incorrectly?) reporting not enough disk space

Post by mboucher87 » Jun 10, 2019 12:22 am

The Source File section has the machine being backed up and the Target File just says C:\ ... no machine name shown.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Coldfirex and 28 guests