Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Craqcatoa
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Jonathan Ramirez

Backup Jobs

Post by Craqcatoa »

Hello, i am quite new to this software and have been encountering some issues. I was assigned to keep a lookout on backups, there are a total of three backup jobs, these backup jobs are premade and i think they should be changed since they have been failing when creating synthetic backup files and not backing up between the allowed time lapse. I want to see if changing the jobs might help the backup process. Here are the jobs
Job 1:
Virtual machine 1 197Gb
Virtual machine 2 300Gb
Virtual machine 3 480.2Gb
Virtual machine 4 82.8Gb
Virtual machine 5 46.5Gb
Virtual machine 6 36.3Gb
Virtual machine 7 45.5Gb
Virtual machine 8 92.4Gb
Runs everyday at 9pm with no synthetic backups for the moment and a backup copy job every day at 1am

Job 2:
Virtual machine 1 179.8Gb
Virtual machine 2 79.4Gb
Virtual machine 3 94.7Gb
Virtual machine 4 315.2Gb
Virtual machine 5 180Gb
Virtual machine 6 181.2Gb
Virtual machine 7 67.9Gb
Virtual machine 8 27Gb
Virtual machine 9 39.2Gb
Runs everyday at 11PM with no synthetic backups for the moment and a backup copy job every day at 4am

Job 3:
Virtual machine 1 29Gb
Virtual machine 2 82Gb
Runs everyday at 1AM with no synthetic backups for the moment and a backup copy job every day at 3am

My first guess is to change the time lapse between jobs, instead of giving them 2 hours between jobs change it to three hours and change the time for the backup copy jobs. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance :D
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Backup Jobs

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Jonathan and welcome to the community!
Have you disabled synthetic full? Did it fail just because of time shortage for the synthetic transformation?
You may re-schedule the jobs, but I would start from your goal. Do you want to have full backups or keep using forever forward backup method?