Backup Options for ROBO

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Thu Nov 24, 2016 11:46 am

We have all our main HQ VMware hosts running B&R and all good. However, we have 10+ ROBO office which have single VMware hosts, with 3-4 VMs - mainly domain controllers and print servers. Each site connected via 1.5Mbps. I want to implement a very cheap form of backup and would be interested to know what options other have taken. I was even thinking about deploying a Synology DiskStation in each ROBO, attaching it as a datastore to the hosts, and just periodically cloning the VMs.

What other methods are you guys using/recommending?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:44 pm 1 person likes this post

You can deploy proxies on each of the remote hosts and backup them with Veeam B&R so that backup traffic stay local.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:08 pm

A.That would mean rather expensive license costs for Veeam as we have the full suite and I believe you can't mix license levels.
B. I assume it would be better to have a repository in the ROBO on which to keep the backups. What cheap options here for a repository?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:39 pm 1 person likes this post

gingerdazza wrote:B. I assume it would be better to have a repository in the ROBO on which to keep the backups. What cheap options here for a repository?

You can review this thread for some options.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:53 pm

That topic seems to mainly discuss larger scale backup repositories. I was hoping to be talking in the sub $1,000 per ROBO arena, say like Synology NAS boxes.

Others got any other suggestions for cheap ROBO backup setups?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:01 pm 1 person likes this post

Actually options suggested there can be used in environments of almost any scale, starting from the smallest ones.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:33 pm

Is it possible to use VeeamZIP to backup ROBO VMs to a local NAS repository? I assume this would need a Windows VM in the ROBO acting as a proxy and gateway server to a simple SMB cheap NAS like a QNAP?? I don't think this would require any form of Veeam license on the ROBO kit?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:25 am

BUMP
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:50 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, you will need a proxy at the remote site to perform this. Corresponding source hosts should be covered by your current license, so make sure it has enough sockets.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:33 am

1. I assume the proxy can still be just any Windows VM on the host I'm protecting?
2. "source hosts should be covered by your current license". Not sure I understand........

Scenario:
Paris ROBO Office
1 Host VMware, single socket, no Veeam licenses, with 4 Windows VMs, including one used as Veeam proxy. VMware host has Synology NFS/iSCSI NAS as second "backup" datastore.
B&R server in London. From this server setup backup of Paris ROBO VMs using paris proxy, to Synology device in Paris using VeeamZIP manually.

Are any licenses needed in this setup, where and why?

Thanks
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:56 am 1 person likes this post

1. Yes.
2. You have Veeam B&R license installed on your Veeam B&R server in London that covers some number of source host sockets. This same license should cover remote hosts if you're going to backup VMs residing on them.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:01 pm

Thanks Foggy. But I thought VeeamZIP was free? Can I not use VeeamZIP to backup to ROBO VMs via a proxy to the Synology drive?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Well, we've checked and it turned out that I was wrong. VeeamZIP doesn't require the host to be licensed, so you can use it without bothering about license count.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:50 pm

Thanks

.........can I just check that it's also OK to have a proxy and/or gateway server on an unlicensed host?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Backup Options for ROBO

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:45 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, you do not need a license for proxies/repositories/gateways. Only source hosts where backed up/replicated VMs reside are counted.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests