Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
SebSpi
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 13, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Sebastian S
Contact:

Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by SebSpi » May 31, 2016 7:18 am

Hello guys,

we use a Windows 2012 R2 Server as backup Proxy for our backups. The Transport mode is Direct San. The backup Proxy is configured like in the Evaluators Guide VMware described, but sometimes some of the backup Jobs don't work properly and throw an AgentClosedException. In this case the error was thrown on 14th May and on 30th May, between that our backup Job was perfectly fine and successful. After opening a case it was said we should use the VMware Backup Proxy, of course we could use this Proxy, but this Proxy is way too slow, while we reach a Speed approximately around 100 MB/s with w2k12r2 backup Proxy, we only reach a Speed of around 24Mb/s with the VMware backup Proxy.

What could cause the Problem with our w2k12r2 backup Proxy? Does anyone have an idea or should I open another case?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3299
Liked: 657 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by nielsengelen » May 31, 2016 7:21 am

Which method is being used by the default proxy? Does it say NBD, hotadd or SAN? Also what is your network config like?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

SebSpi
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 13, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Sebastian S
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by SebSpi » May 31, 2016 7:49 am

Hey Niels thanks for your fast reply,

I looked into a Report of one of the VMware Backup Proxy backups, here it says: "31.05.2016 00:09:28 :: Using backup proxy VMware Backup Proxy for disk Hard disk 1 [san]"
The w2k12r2 backup Proxy uses hotadd.

The VMware backup Proxy uses "autmoatic selection" as Transport mode and as additional Option "Failover to Network mode if Primary mode Fails, or is unavailable".
In traffic rules there is just the empty table of manage Network and traffic rules.

Is there a way to see the Network configuration within Veeam B&R, because I am not sure where to look?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3299
Liked: 657 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by nielsengelen » May 31, 2016 8:04 am

Was more wondering if you have 1 or 10 gbit. Also the speeds you are seeing, is this with a full or incremental backup?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

SebSpi
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 13, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Sebastian S
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by SebSpi » May 31, 2016 8:50 am

Ah okay my bad, we only have 1 gbit.

Okay the processing rate of the VMware backup Proxy was around 64MB/s while doing a full backup, which must be some sort of average Speed, because when I looked into our backup Job yesterday it was still running between 10mbit/s and 24 mbit/s.
The other backup Job which uses the w2k12r2 had a Processing rate of 90mbit/s although this was an incremental backup. I can give you more Feedback tomorrow, after both backup Jobs have done an incremental backup, might be a bad example in this case.

But the best Thing would be to fix the w2k12r2 backup Proxy, but I don't know how because I can't tell why it throws an exception from time to time when it runs successful most of the other times.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3299
Liked: 657 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by nielsengelen » May 31, 2016 8:51 am 1 person likes this post

In regards to the speeds, they look normal for full jobs.

Please open a case to get the exception issue resolved.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

SebSpi
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 13, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Sebastian S
Contact:

Re: Backup Proxy doesn't work properly

Post by SebSpi » May 31, 2016 9:20 am

Thanks I will do that and another thanks for letting me know that this seems to be normal Speed for a full backup.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: billeuze, jyan and 50 guests