backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby m86m » Tue May 16, 2017 8:49 am

Hello,

we are using veeam backup & replication 7.

In the last days we have a problem. When I access veeam-shell it needs up to 15 minutes to be start.

When I try to change the configuration for example disable a backup Job, the veeamshell service (taskmgr) will be in the status inactive.

The backup-process in the bachground seem to work fine.
m86m
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 6:51 am
Full Name: Moritz Mlynarek

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 9:02 am

Hi and welcome to the forums.

VBR 7 is end of life for a while so my first advise would be to perform an upgrade if you still have maintenance on it.

Besides this, did you already restart the Veeam services to see if this resolved something? Did anything major recently change in the infrastructure which may have caused this? Upgrades to ESXi for example?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1663
Liked: 369 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby m86m » Tue May 16, 2017 9:45 am

I have no maintenance at the moment.
We did a restart of the Server more than once.
We tried to integrade an LTO7 Drive (http://www.quantum.com/de/technologies/lto/index.aspx) as a backup repository.

Sometimes (not allways) when I try to start veeam a massage apperas:
Failed to retrieve updated or changed count rows from the table reportjobsview. USN: 0

If I have to install veeam 7 on a fresh server will I be able to access the backups of the virtual machines which I did with this one?
m86m
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 6:51 am
Full Name: Moritz Mlynarek

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 10:08 am

Backup files can be accessed from any Veeam 7 (or higher) server so yes that will work. However LTO7 tape support is only added in the latest version so you are running an unsupported configuration which might cause the errors.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1663
Liked: 369 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby m86m » Tue May 16, 2017 10:18 am

Ok, thank you. I will try a new server with veeam7 and if that fails I will do the upgrade.
m86m
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 6:51 am
Full Name: Moritz Mlynarek

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby m86m » Tue May 16, 2017 12:39 pm

After setting up veeam7 on a new server it worked fine with lto7.
m86m
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 6:51 am
Full Name: Moritz Mlynarek

Re: backup & replication 7 / veeamshell inaktive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 12:40 pm

Great to hear it works again :-)!
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1663
Liked: 369 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest