'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERROR

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERROR

Veeam Logoby atike » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:53 am

Hi All,

Every now and again, probably about once a week I get a failure email through from Veeam saying the following =

"Error: Cannot proceed with the job: existing backup meta file '\\****\veeam_backups\Daily Backup\Daily Backup.vbm' on repository 'Backup Repository 4' is not synchronized with the DB. To resolve this, run repository rescan"

I run the rescan and restart the job and the backup continues to run OK for a few more days and then this will happen again...

Can any one shed some light on why this is happening and how I can fix it please :)?


Regards,
Alex
atike
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:36 pm
Full Name: Alex Tooke

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:01 am

Alex, please contact technical support for logs review, as it is advised to do with all technical issues (right when you click New Topic). Please provide your support case ID number, if you want to keep this thread open. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby atike » Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:12 am 1 person likes this post

I have contacted technical support, and the case ID number is 00827484
atike
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:36 pm
Full Name: Alex Tooke

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby ivoneta » Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:47 pm

I'm getting this error frequently as described above, will also log a job.
ivoneta
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:45 am
Full Name: Tom Ivone

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:41 am

Hi, Tom, what kind of storage are you using as a backup repository? Is dedupe one by any chance? As I can see from the case, the support team has just provided a hotfix for Alex and now is waiting for his response.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby nebojsa » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:47 pm

I have a similar situation, using NetApp deduplicated CIFS shares as backup repositories, Veeam 8.0.0.917
nebojsa
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:19 am

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:56 pm

Please also contact technical support to verify your setup and apply hotfix, if applicable.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby nebojsa » Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:09 am

Is there a chance for this hotfix to make its way to the next patch release? If yes, I can wait for that.
nebojsa
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:19 am

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:12 am

Is there a chance for this hotfix to make its way to the next patch release?

Yes, chance is there. I'd still recommend contacting support team to confirm whether the issue you're experiencing is similar to the described one and whether the hotfix addresses it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby kkuszek » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:55 pm

I am experiencing the same issue on some of my backup jobs using dedupe type right now, but not all of my jobs with dedupe enabled. Sounds like the hotfix needs to make it's rounds
kkuszek
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 92
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:12 pm
Full Name: Kurt Kuszek

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:57 pm

Kurt, have you already contacted support to request the hotfix?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby kkuszek » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:59 pm

I have not yet, I just googled the error and found the thread this morning. I will be reaching out.
kkuszek
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 92
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:12 pm
Full Name: Kurt Kuszek

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby TvT » Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:32 pm

Try this.

Rescanning Backup Repositories
Home topic > Administration > Setting Up Backup Infrastructure > Configuring Backup Repositories >

Backup repository rescan may be required, for example, if you have archived backups from a backup repository to tape and deleted backup files on the backup repository or you have copied backups to the backup repository manually and want to work with them in Veeam Backup & Replication.

To rescan a backup repository:

1.Open the Backup Infrastructure view.

2.Select the Backup Repositories node in the inventory pane.

3.Select the necessary backup repository in the working area and click Rescan Repository on the ribbon or right-click the necessary backup repository in working area and select Rescan repository.
TvT
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:29 pm

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:05 pm

Thanks for the tip, however this did not help the OP in the long term, so I'd still recommend to ask for our technical team assistance.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 'Backup Repository' is not synchronized with the DB. ERR

Veeam Logoby cliljest » Tue May 19, 2015 9:01 pm

I'm getting this error on two of my backup jobs. All other backup jobs are successful. I have re-scanned the backup repository and tried the failing jobs again but getting the same results. I am on version 8.0.0.2021. Case #00921717
cliljest
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:17 pm
Full Name: Charles Liljestrand

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 27 guests