Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
redhorse
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH
Location: Germany
Contact:

Backup Repository Load Control

Post by redhorse » Apr 15, 2019 6:40 am

Hello,

we've got a veeam setup where we backup on the remote site to a local storage and transfer these backups to a backup copy repository on the main site. To avoid bandwith issues, we've set a limit in the load control section with two maximum concurrent tasks and maximum bandwith of 1 MB/s which is working very well and it fits our backup size.

We've been backing up these backup copys to tape on the main site for some time and now, after we upgraded Veeam to the latest version, we've descoverd some strange issues. After analyzing all the issues and error message and after trying several configurations I noticed that the problem seems to be related to the load control settings within the backup copy repository. Is it possible that the tape backup job also uses those limitations? Has the behaviour been changed between Update 3 and 4 of Veeam? Is there a way to set the limitations only to the backup copy process (which uses WAN) and not for the tape backup (wich is on the same site)?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3698
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Repository Load Control

Post by HannesK » Apr 15, 2019 1:47 pm

Hello,
I can answer the second part of your question: you can limit the network bandwidth in the network traffic rules settings for the backup copy job.


Best regards,
Hannes

redhorse
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Backup Repository Load Control

Post by redhorse » Apr 15, 2019 2:25 pm

Hi Hannes,

great, that's all I need and it solves my current issue.

Thanks und Grüße nach Österreich

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10310
Liked: 837 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Repository Load Control

Post by Dima P. » Apr 16, 2019 11:15 am

redhorse,

Logic was not changed. To make sure the connection is not throttled I'd also recommend you to check Traffic Throttling Rules in the tape server traffic settings. Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], rhys.hammond and 27 guests