Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ypatel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2016 11:36 am
Full Name: Yogi Patel
Contact:

Backup servers within a virtual Lab?

Post by ypatel » Apr 08, 2016 10:39 am

We are basically testing a SharePoint upgrade, so have a SUREBackup Job with my SharePoint environment within a Virtual Lab.
Is there any way of backing up the work we have done within the lab? So we can start-up the lab again if it gets shut down?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 468 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup servers within a virtual Lab?

Post by PTide » Apr 08, 2016 10:46 am

Hi,
Is there any way of backing up the work we have done within the lab? So we can start-up the lab again if it gets shut down?
The best way to achieve that would be to perform the entire VM restore into your SureBackup lab so that it does not run from a backup but is a separate autonomous VM.

Thank you.

ypatel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2016 11:36 am
Full Name: Yogi Patel
Contact:

Re: Backup servers within a virtual Lab?

Post by ypatel » Apr 08, 2016 10:54 am

Thanks, would I then just create a new backup job, selecting the VM's within the lab?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 468 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup servers within a virtual Lab?

Post by PTide » Apr 08, 2016 10:59 am 1 person likes this post

would I then just create a new backup job, selecting the VM's within the lab?
Yes, that new VM can be backed up just in the same manner as your production VM.

Thank you.

UPDATE: Actually VM deployment is not required, you can backup SureBackup VM just as it is, however the performance may suffer.

ypatel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2016 11:36 am
Full Name: Yogi Patel
Contact:

Re: Backup servers within a virtual Lab?

Post by ypatel » Apr 08, 2016 12:30 pm

Brilliant, many thanks for this - have started the backup, noticed the performance drop straight way
Will update the post once the backup is complete & I try restoring the backup back into a lab...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 36 guests