Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 120
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by crackocain » Aug 11, 2016 7:32 am

Hi

We are experienced interesting error yesterday in Veeam v9

My coallege install Veeam Server but he select region settings and System locale settings Turkish. He installed windows 2012 r2 english iso.

Veeam Backup Jobs working but Configuration Backups always error. Then i install the Patch 1 or Patch 2.

Patch install successful but Veeam Backup Service can not start. remoting channel sink uri not published error. Other services are working.So i'm uninstall Veeam & SQL 2012. I'm change to the English (United States)Then re install again.

I just want to ask; Why Veeam Installer can't control Region Settings first install? For example something like that

System Language is Turkish. Please change to English then run the installer again.
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6658
Liked: 665 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by Shestakov » Aug 11, 2016 12:32 pm

Hi Mehmet,
That`s an interesting feedback. Let us double-check the behavior with QA team.
crackocain wrote:Then i install the Patch 1 or Patch 2.
Could you specify the patch (update) you`ve installed?
Thanks!

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 120
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by crackocain » Aug 11, 2016 12:36 pm

Both. I tried this behaviour different clients.

First one client i'm installed directy GA + Patch1
Another client GA + Patch 2

If system language is Turkish, after the patch installation then Veeam Server crashed.
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6658
Liked: 665 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by Shestakov » Aug 11, 2016 1:49 pm

Thanks for the answer Mehmet!
Indeed the behavior you experienced is not expected.
Could you contact Veeam Support team for the issue investigation?

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 120
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by crackocain » Aug 11, 2016 1:53 pm

No. Small offices so i'm reinstall Veeam then map backup and ready. it's not too critical location.

I'm only want to tell this subject :) Thanks
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6658
Liked: 665 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by Shestakov » Aug 11, 2016 2:36 pm

That`s pity, since your logs can help with the problem resolution.
Anyway, thanks for bringing the point.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 120
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by crackocain » Aug 11, 2016 2:39 pm

Which log you want to? Did you tell the exact same log location?

Another client still same installation. We can not patch there. If i'm install the patch then i'm sure it's can't worked too :)
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6658
Liked: 665 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by Shestakov » Aug 11, 2016 3:08 pm

Logs of VBR components such as Installer as well as System ones are needed. The best way to send them is to contact the support team.
Once you do, please provide a support case number here to follow the further investigation.
Thanks!

bahooo
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: bahadir selin
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by bahooo » Aug 11, 2016 7:04 pm

Hi Mehmet,

Please check events under system and service tabs. That will give you more information what the problem is. As a matter of fact, all language in any system must be same because of conflicting. So, just check the events and maybe you will see more information. In addition, the problem may be related to your time or time zone.

Thanks. Selamlar.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 120
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by crackocain » Aug 11, 2016 8:10 pm

Hi. Yeah i'm checked event log but i can't see significant or seperative event.

I'm always select English time and currency, and English system language. But my coallagues some of clients install Veeam that way. They cannot solve the problem. So pass through me :) Then i looked the system languages.

But i think this error happened SQL 2012 installation triggered Veeam.

İ think first install of Veeam, SQL instance configured system local language. If Veeam forced the English Latin SQL installation this problem can not happened. Because i changed the region and system language to English after this error. Problem cannot solve.

Interesting part is after the patch installation Veeam Backup can't work :)

Eyvallah hocam :)
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

OzerS
Certified Trainer
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 18, 2016 7:25 pm
Full Name: Ozer Salman
Contact:

Re: Backup Service can't start after Patch 1 or 2 - Region

Post by OzerS » Aug 15, 2016 7:40 am 1 person likes this post

Most likely issue is SQL collation, when its install on Turkish windows OS collation is something other than SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS. I recommend installing SQL on US English Windows rather. This is true for some other vendors like VMware, for vCenter Server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdsBot [Google], beze, ramik.allakhverdiev and 40 guests