Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4307
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by PTide » Oct 27, 2015 1:41 pm

every backup dat VEEAM does, its backup 1TB.
Do you mean that every time you run your backup it's still 1TB in size no matter if it's incremental or full? Btw, what OS do you run - is it Linux of Windows?

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by jamerson » Oct 27, 2015 4:55 pm

PTide wrote:Do you mean that every time you run your backup it's still 1TB in size no matter if it's incremental or full? Btw, what OS do you run - is it Linux of Windows?
yes this what I mean. all the backup I am using is incremental
its backup the disk size not the files size.
I am on OS 2012R2 64 bit
Thank you

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4307
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by PTide » Oct 28, 2015 12:45 pm

So, you have a VM with a 1 TB .vmdk and only 1 x 200 GB guest OS (Windows 2012R2) volume atop that .vmdk? Are the remaining 800 GB allocated? Also, do you have Windows deduplication enabled? If so then what is your backup schedule and what is your deduplication schedule?

Thank you.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by jamerson » Oct 29, 2015 10:56 pm

PTide wrote:So, you have a VM with a 1 TB .vmdk and only 1 x 200 GB guest OS (Windows 2012R2) volume atop that .vmdk? Are the remaining 800 GB allocated? Also, do you have Windows deduplication enabled? If so then what is your backup schedule and what is your deduplication schedule?

Thank you.
Thank you for your answer,
yes I do have File serve with two disks
disk 1 + 40GB ssd which is running the OS
disk 2 1TB " 200GB data and 800 GB free.
Windows Duplication is not enabled and my schedule is one a day and keep the restore points for 5 days .

thank you

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16822
Liked: 1359 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by foggy » Oct 30, 2015 10:15 am

How do you tell the entire 1TB is backed up? Do you see the huge read/transferred counters values each time? Have you reviewed the thread above for some hints regarding the observed behavior?

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by lightsout » Nov 02, 2015 2:21 pm

So here is how I handled this problem. I guess this will be "fixed" in v9, but here is how I work in v8.

My core script is this vbscript, which will run sdelete on all drives on the server. It assumes the sdelete.exe is in the same directory as the vbscript file:

Code: Select all

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

Dim fso, d, dc
Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set dc = fso.Drives

strSFN = wscript.scriptfullname
strSFN = Left(strSFN,InstrRev(strSFN,"\"))

WshShell.RegWrite "HKCU\Software\Sysinternals\", 0, "REG_SZ"
WshShell.RegWrite "HKCU\Software\Sysinternals\SDelete\", 0, "REG_SZ"
WshShell.RegWrite "HKCU\Software\Sysinternals\SDelete\EulaAccepted", 1, "REG_DWORD"

For Each d in dc
If d.DriveType = 2 Then
  wscript.echo "Zeroing: " & d
  wshShell.Run strSFN & "sdelete -z " & d, 1, TRUE
End If
Next

Set WshShell = Nothing
I run this on all servers using a scheduled task, that runs once a month. It has a randomization period of 24hrs, over the weekend, as to not overload the SAN system. This will make Veeam spend a lot of time processing the backups after this runs, but I'm OK with that, but your mileage may vary!

I've also found running a file system defrag can help, as sdelete can be VERY slow if the file system is heavily fragmented. So I run that just before sdelete runs.

I can provide further detail, if people are interested.

Edage
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 29, 2014 9:01 am
Full Name: Patiphon Techacheewapong
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam read vm oversize

Post by Edage » Dec 08, 2017 8:31 am

Let's me explain about my situation first.

I had implemented Veeam for my customer and it work successfully, but after a while they contact me that it look like veeam read 1 vm oversize from what it used currently.

They send information about that vm, it have Thin provisioning 2.4 TB and used around 1.85 TB, but when Veeam backup it read this vm 2.2 TB.

So they concern that why Veeam read vm more capacity than it have. And they already check vm disk on window explorer also confirm that it used around 1.8 TB.

For me Veeam never have this problem before so I expected that Veeam read it correctly, but how should I prove it for them?

lando_uk
Expert
Posts: 280
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam read vm oversize

Post by lando_uk » Dec 08, 2017 10:28 am

If you're not doing occasional Full backups, you need to defrag and compact your jobs occasionally (or run an active Full)
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16822
Liked: 1359 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by foggy » Dec 08, 2017 11:31 am

Hi Patiphon, please review this thread for details. Basically, this is explained by NTFS design and the fact the data is being deleted inside guest OS.

Edage
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 29, 2014 9:01 am
Full Name: Patiphon Techacheewapong
Contact:

Re: Backup size larger than

Post by Edage » Dec 08, 2017 1:18 pm

Thank you for your help foggy, I will review if it can help me solve my problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], patrick.shea, rickrbyrne, vhernandez and 31 guests