Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
DED10
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: ANDRE
Contact:

Backup to NAS

Post by DED10 » Feb 23, 2010 9:50 am

That's the problem I encounter.
I am trying to backup a NAS.
I connected a network drive under windows. I go to the NAS correctly.

When I schedule a backup using Veeam he test backup using a UNC path? Is this normal?
I then the error:
Building path for backup Failed to create dir "\ \ 198.168.20.227 \ Backup \" Unable to find part of path '\ \ 198.168.20.227 \ Backup'.

Thank you

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24465
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Bakup on NAS

Post by Gostev » Feb 23, 2010 11:09 am

Andre, I am not sure I fully understand what you are saying, but you should not use network drive in Windows as backup destination. Mapped drives are only available for users logged on to the computer interactively, they are created at logon and removed at logoff, and cannot be accessed by services.

You need to specify UNC path to target share in the backup destination instead, for example: \\NAS-IP\backup

DED10
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: ANDRE
Contact:

Re: Bakup on NAS

Post by DED10 » Feb 23, 2010 12:45 pm

Sorry for my English!

It does not work via the \ \ NAS-IP \ backup
I have the following error:
Details
Building path for backup Failed to create dir "\ \ NAS-IP \ backup \" Unable to find part of path '\ \ NAS-IP\ backup'.


Let me explain my setup
I make backup on a SAN which are going very well.
I also want to backup a NAS that is in another computer room.

You may know a better way?
Thank you

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Bakup on NAS

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 23, 2010 1:03 pm

Hello Andre,

Are you able to access that NAS device by IP address while being logged in to your backup server with the account which is specified as logon account in the Veeam Backup and FastSCP service?

Thank you!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24465
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Bakup on NAS

Post by Gostev » Feb 23, 2010 1:08 pm

Also, why do you have spaces in the address between back slashes? This looks strange to me.

murda
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 18, 2009 10:05 am
Full Name: murda
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by murda » Feb 23, 2010 1:43 pm

I did it this way.

Veeam on VM and backup to a SAN.
Then I put a Rsync client for windows on the VM VEEAM and made a schedule towards the my NAS device.

Rsync then do a incremental backup from the backup made from Veeam on the SAN.

DED10
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: ANDRE
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by DED10 » Feb 24, 2010 7:12 am

Hello

To answer all your answers:
I have no space in my path (UNC is when I paste my text in the forum they appear.)

Try configuring with Rsync but I found where was the problem with your suggestion.

Let me explain:
My NAS is integrated into my domain. There are bugs to access when it is integrated into a field. I did a updated firmware, but the problem is still there.
The solution currently is allowed public access to the NAS share and Veeam accesses properly.

I hope to be quite clear in my explanation and my English.

Thank you for your help :D

cb-comfuse
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 06, 2009 10:16 am
Full Name: Christoph Baecker
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by cb-comfuse » Mar 23, 2010 11:51 am

Hi everyone,

same problem here. I´d like to backup to an 2.5TB NAS. Veeam Backup 4.1.1. running on Server 2008 R2 x64. Thecus-NAS N5500 2.5TB free space, AD-integrated. I can access the share from the Backup-Server and add/delete Files and Directories without any problems but I can´t backup one VM.
Building path for backup
Failed to create dir "\\n5500\backup\"
Unable to find part of path "\\n5500\backup"
Same problem with IP-Adress!

Best practice or not, is there a way to make it working?

Thanks in advance!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 23, 2010 12:11 pm

Christoph, have you've tried accessing your 2.5TB NAS device having logged on to Veeam Backup server with the account used by Veeam Backup and FastSCP service?

cb-comfuse
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 06, 2009 10:16 am
Full Name: Christoph Baecker
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by cb-comfuse » Mar 23, 2010 1:28 pm

Good point! :oops: Now as I run the Veeam-Service with the appropiate account-information for accessing the NAS it works. Thank you very much :!:

rizks_2000
Enthusiast
Posts: 77
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2010 1:12 am
Full Name: Anthony Rizk
Contact:

Re: Backup to NAS

Post by rizks_2000 » Mar 23, 2010 11:55 pm

I was hoping I would see the right answer here and sometimes it always is the logon creds for sure. I'm glad because I just ordered the Iomega Stor-Center, which is VMWare certified, etc. I need to back up to NAS from Veeam and I know I read out here that it worked. In fact, I got the idea about the iOmega device from this forum because I knew nothing about NAS but expect to learn quickly! Thanks again for all these posts!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], nmdange and 35 guests