Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Personne
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2009 3:07 am
Contact:

Backup to UNC patch

Post by Personne » Nov 11, 2009 7:06 pm

My Veeam server is a Virtual Machine. I'm trying to test the performance of the Virtual Appliance mode, because my ESX datastore are NFS (not iSCSI)

When I configure the backup to be saved on the Veeam server itself, if does work, but as you can imagine I'm not going to save my VMs in a VM on the save disk as my production. So I've been trying to save my backup to a physical server with some cheap HD to a UNC path or even to a map K drive, but with no success.

Error message I got using the UNC path or the mapped K: drive
Building path for backup
Failed to create dir "\\svr-backup01\it\"
Could not find a part of the path '\\svr-backup01\it'.

Solution ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22868
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 11, 2009 8:28 pm

Hello,

Can you tell me please if you're able to open that UNC path, when you're logged in to the backup server with the credentials stated in Veeam Backup and FastSCP service at logon info?

Personne
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2009 3:07 am
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by Personne » Nov 11, 2009 8:39 pm

Ben fron the Veeam team asnwer my question.

The Veeam Backup and FastSCP service needs to have access to the remote storage share drive. By default the Veeam service runs under the local administrator user

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22868
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 11, 2009 8:41 pm

Ok, glad that you've clarified everything with Ben!

rryszka
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2010 4:58 pm
Full Name: Ryan R
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by rryszka » Feb 18, 2010 5:20 pm

I am having the same issue. How do you configure to use a NAS located on the domain? I am running the software on the domain controller and trying to use a drive I have mapped on this image.

T.I.A.
Ryan

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24641
Liked: 3468 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by Gostev » Feb 18, 2010 8:24 pm

Ryan, mapped drives are only available for users logged on to the computer interactively, they are created at logon and removed at logoff, and cannot be accessed by services. If you want to write to NAS, you need to specify UNC path to target share in the backup destination, for example: \\myserver\backups

Thanks!

rryszka
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2010 4:58 pm
Full Name: Ryan R
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by rryszka » Feb 18, 2010 9:34 pm

I am trying to use a NetGear Stora Device. I have given it an IP on my network, however; can you point me in the direction of setting up a UNC to it?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24641
Liked: 3468 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup to UNC patch

Post by Gostev » Feb 18, 2010 9:45 pm

Ryan, then you should be able to access it using \\IP-Address\Share-Name right now. If you do not have shared folder created on the device yet, you should refer to Stora's documentation or contact NetGear support for assistance with setting this up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: engedib, Ravi Teja and 42 guests