Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 05, 2013 9:53 am

Dear all,
i have on my lab ( still testing Veeam), 3 VM machines running on Vsphere 5.1
Machine one = DC which is 40 GB ( domain controller)
Machine two = EX which is 140 GB ( Exchange server )
Machine Three = FS which is 1.7 TB ( File server and Backup server)

FS server is partitioned to 3 Partitions=
1 OS = 100GB ( used 50GB)
2 Data = 1TB ( used 70GB)
3 Data backup = 600GB ( used 0 GB)
i want to schedule a job to back-up the 3 VMWare machines daily on the backup Partition (600GB ) on the FS, excluding the Partition 3 on the FS, how can i performace this?
i want to schedule a full back-up job once a week to backup the whole 3 Vms DC, EX, FS ( excluiding Partition 3 databack on the FS server) on my External HDD 1TB , how can in do this?


thank you so much

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24638
Liked: 3467 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by Gostev » May 05, 2013 7:28 pm

Hi Julien, you can exclude specific disks from backup jobs with the exclusions functionality (Exclusions button in the backup job wizard). The user interface for this feature is pretty straight forward, however should you need more info please refer to the User Guide. Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 06, 2013 7:50 am

Gostev wrote:Hi Julien, you can exclude specific disks from backup jobs with the exclusions functionality (Exclusions button in the backup job wizard). The user interface for this feature is pretty straight forward, however should you need more info please refer to the User Guide. Thanks!
HI Gostev,
i looked on the manual and there is nothing to specify this, however after excluding the disks the size still remain 1.6 TB, i am still on test lab, so what i''ve done is i recreat a new Machine with 3 disks, Disk 0 40GB disk 1 600GB and Disk 32500 Disk
when i created a job to back just the OS system i excluded the disks 1 and 2 but the size of the VM still remain 1.6 TB !

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16788
Liked: 1408 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by veremin » May 06, 2013 8:07 am

The size of the VM still remain 1.6 TB !
The size that is shown the GUI doesn’t reflect the reality. It’s a known GUI glitch that GUI doesn’t take into account disk exclusion, showing constantly full VM size. Moreover, it will be fixed in the next version of VB&R.

Or you’re talking about the situation when you’ve excluded given disk, however, it is still being processed by backup job?

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 06, 2013 8:28 am

Correct Ermin, even the disks are excluded it taking the whole 3 disks for backup job,
i want just to backup one partition, after it does, i can mount the virtual disk and restores files and folders,

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16788
Liked: 1408 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by veremin » May 06, 2013 8:46 am

Are these disks virtual disks? Or they are nothing but partitions of one virtual disk? I’m asking, since VB&R exclusions are implemented on virtual disk level and not on partition one.

Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 06, 2013 12:53 pm

all the 3 disks are Virtual, i am on Vsphere 5
Disk 0
Disk 1
Disk 2

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24638
Liked: 3467 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by Gostev » May 06, 2013 1:04 pm

Then it sounds like you simply did not configure the disk exclusion correctly. Please open a support case, and our engineer will help you with setting the exclusions up via the webex. Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 06, 2013 9:37 pm

Gostev wrote:Then it sounds like you simply did not configure the disk exclusion correctly. Please open a support case, and our engineer will help you with setting the exclusions up via the webex. Thanks!
i've read somewhere, recoverying a partition will need to reboot the server before, is true?
let says i backed up disk 1 who contins data ad want to recovery it, do i need to reboot the server to apply ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22863
Liked: 1539 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 07, 2013 4:50 am

Hi Julien,

You can add new virtual disks to the VM configuration without powering this VM down.

Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 07, 2013 4:47 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Julien,

You can add new virtual disks to the VM configuration without powering this VM down.

Thanks!
hey Vitality,
i didn''t says add but i recovery,
i took a back up of a disk 2 ( contain 1 partition for data), after i want to recovery this partition it asked me to reboot the OS,
this what i meant

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24638
Liked: 3467 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by Gostev » May 07, 2013 6:23 pm

jamerson wrote:i've read somewhere, recoverying a partition will need to reboot the server before, is true?
let says i backed up disk 1 who contins data ad want to recovery it, do i need to reboot the server to apply ?
No, unless adding the volume requires Windows OS to go through new hardware/driver installations, for example if this volume never existed in that VM before (which is not the case for scenario you are explaining).

I recommend you simply test all recovery scenarios you are interested in on a copy of your application servers, so you know exactly what to expect and are completely prepared to handle the outage.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: backup VM with specify Partition

Post by jamerson » May 08, 2013 9:34 am

once again thank you for the help and continu support really appreciate it,
i''ll hold my breath till the version 7 will be released .

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 43 guests