Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 05, 2012 7:37 pm

We are running 6.0. We have to wait until we get approval for the 6.1 version.

I received a respond from the Veeam Support, pointing me to KB ID: 1475 and I have a question. the KB below says:
=====================================================================
1) The repository for the backup job(s) will need to be deleted however you cannot delete the repository with jobs linked to it so what you can do is create another repository pointing to the same location.

2) Move the Veeam files (VBK, VRB, VIB, VBM) from the SysWow64 folder back into their original locations with the rest of the backup files for your jobs.

3) As long as you have a VBM file for each set of backups you can then simply go into Backup Repositories (under Backup Infrastructure) and re-scan the repositories that you just created. Veeam should then see that the backup files reside in that directory.

4) Go into your Backup jobs and point back to the newly created repository and click the Map Backups link. Your jobs should pick up where they left off and you shouldn't have this issue again.

5) Delete the original repository which should now have no jobs linked to it.
=====================================================================

Point 2 outlines, that the VBM need to be located into their original locations with the rest of the backup files for your job. My VMB's are located in the C:\Windows\SysWOW64 .. Do I have to move them?

Thanks

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 05, 2012 9:01 pm

I have another question.
If I have one mapped drive and a few backup jobs save the generated backup files (vib's/ vbk's) in the location. Does each backup job need to have their own folder structure within the location?
Example:
Z:\Backupjob1\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
Z:\Backupjob2\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
Z:\Backupjob3\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib

or can everything be dumped like
Z:\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib

I'm asking because I'm trying to get my issue resolved and I saw that under V6.0, it seems to be that veeam creates a folder with the Job name under the storage path and have the vbk, vib, and the VMB in it.

If so, do I have to create these folder manually and move the VMB's in it, then rescan the repository?
Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by foggy » Dec 06, 2012 10:18 am

flavor4real wrote:Point 2 outlines, that the VBM need to be located into their original locations with the rest of the backup files for your job. My VMB's are located in the C:\Windows\SysWOW64 .. Do I have to move them?
Yes, move them along with all backup files.

flavor4real wrote:If so, do I have to create these folder manually and move the VMB's in it, then rescan the repository?
The subfolder for the job is automatically created in the backup repository during the first job run following the upgrade to v6. If you do not have the folder for this job, please create it manually and place all the job's files in it.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by v.eremin » Dec 06, 2012 10:30 am

flavor4real wrote: Does each backup job need to have their own folder structure within the location?
Example: Z:\Backupjob1\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
or can everything be dumped like : Z:\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
As far as I’m concerned, such structured architecture is necessary. Otherwise, step 4 of the described method will definitely fail with the following error:

Code: Select all

Move all backup files to a new repository first.
Thanks.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 06, 2012 1:00 pm

Very Interesting ... thanks guys.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

[MERGED] Create New Repository and move Backup files

Post by flavor4real » Dec 06, 2012 2:30 pm

Hello,
I've search and found some posts but I have more questions.
I've upgraded from V5 to V6 and the backup jobs started to put their backup files to the ..\windows\sysWoW64 folder. I found many information but it's not really working out.

I have 4 existing repositories, pointing to 4 individual storage paths, and holding the vbk's/... for 3-4 backup jobs. Since previously all vbk's/vib's were simple dumped in each storage location.
I've therefore created the required folder structure Example:
Z:\Backupjob1\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
Z:\Backupjob2\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib
Z:\Backupjob3\ ...*.vbk,...*.vib

and moved the jobs and the vbm in these locations. I rescanned the repositories and mapped each job to it. Now, Once I run the job it still put's the backup files in the ..\windows\sysWoW64 folder and creates a new vbm file.

so, what else do I need to do?
I've read that I need to create new repositories, I've done that.
Then I need to move the existing backups from the old repository to the new one. How do I do that?
Then I need to rescan
Then I need to map the jobs

Thanks,

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: [MERGED] Create New Repository and move Backup files

Post by v.eremin » Dec 06, 2012 2:58 pm

flavor4real wrote: I've read that I need to create new repositories, I've done that.
Then I need to move the existing backups from the old repository to the new one. How do I do that?
Then I need to rescan
Then I need to map the jobs
Thanks,
1.In your OS Just manually copy/paste existing folders (Backup Job1 and etc.) with backup files (.vbk,.vbm,.vib) stored in it to a new repository.
2.Then Rescan new repository.
3.After having done that, right-click the job, go to the “Storage” option and select newly-created repository from the list.
4.Map the job.

Additionally, If you still think that there isn’t enough information, you can easily use this topic as a source of knowledge.

That’s all.
Thanks.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 06, 2012 3:01 pm

does that mean that my storage admin has to attach 4 new storage to my Veeam Backup Server? So, then i would have 8 storage and i can move the data from the existing 4 to the new 4 and then remove the old 4.....

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by foggy » Dec 06, 2012 3:15 pm

You do not need additional storage actually, just create new repositories pointing to the same location and move the backup files from the SysWow64 folder there, according to the new folder structure.

What you might be missing, is not just picking the new repository while mapping the job, but also pointing it to the existing backup files (using the Map backup link on the Storage step of the wizard).

Btw, here is another topic with the procedure outlined in detail: Moving To New Repository.

In case you're still stuck with getting the jobs writing to the required folders, I would recommend asking support to assist you via webex, this would probably be the quickest way to address that.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 06, 2012 3:52 pm

I see the new added Backup Repository in the storage selection mapping under the the job. however, once selected, I do not see any of the sub folders. I rescanned the repositories several times.

WebEx is not allowed in our environment ...

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 06, 2012 4:27 pm

Version 6.0. We have not approval to use Version 6.1 yet.

Will a fresh install of Veeam 6.0 (instead of a upgrade) fix this issue? I could then just import the existing backup files.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by Gostev » Dec 06, 2012 10:33 pm

Hi, I'd like to remind that this is NOT a support forum, as explained when you click New Topic.

Please open a support case, and our technical support will be able to assist you whether or not webex is allowed. The team behind this forum is not involved in support, and we cannot assist you efficiently with technical issues via forum posts. Besides, most issues require debug logs research. Thank you for understanding!

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 07, 2012 1:47 pm

Understood... sorry, just brain storming

ENSFCa
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 17, 2012 11:08 am
Full Name: Andy Palmer
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by ENSFCa » Dec 12, 2012 12:51 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi, just wanted to chime in as I noticed this thread and, for me it is relevant.
We had an issue where this folder was filling our System drive on VM File Level Restore. We'd chose Windows FLR on our large data store VM and the system would hang for ages, eventually creating a huge file in this folder and requiring a services stop and restart (and cleanup of this folder and the C:\VeeamFLR folder too).
It's still not actually solved yet (case #155330, closed but awaiting fix) however the Veeam techies did find the cause - something called reparse points (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_reparse_point).
We are using a Heirarchical Storage System which, as it should, archives old files and replaces the original file with a stub - these stubs are attempted to be verified by Veeam and each one takes a while to time-out - hence the hang and the massive cache file being produced as the system tries to deal with it.
Work-Around: use the 'Other' FLR option which mounts the VM in vCentre (via NFS) and allows you to browse the disk - it's slower and leaves bits behind in vCentre, but it's reliable.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: backups writing to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Post by flavor4real » Dec 13, 2012 2:06 pm 1 person likes this post

I just wanted to give an update:

All the solutions did not worked. The Veeam Engineer WebEx'd in and tried a few things but there was no solution. so, I went and recreated one backup job and tested it. the Backup job created the folder structure based on the job names and put the *.vbm and backup file in. I therefore recreated all backup jobs and disabled the old ones. At first i received a slow backup speed of ~30-60 Mb/sec but after the initial backup, everything started to work again. I will now, slowly decommission the old backup jobs and remove the old backups.

So, the worst scenario is that you have to recreate the backup jobs, which is fine. You will not loos any data if you keep the old job and files intact and just slowly decommission then after your grace period.

The only issue I've experienced is that my backup storage locations disk space get pushed to full. I had to manually remove old backups one by one each day to ensure that I still can restore from the old data but have enough space for the new data to come in. After all, new jobs means a new retention period, so you need a bit of extra space. I managed.

Thanks for the support guys.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Karinne and 16 guests