Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Barastam
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 18, 2014 10:38 am
Contact:

Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veeam

Post by Barastam » Nov 18, 2014 10:51 am

Hello all,

Anyone know how to backup and restore a Vcenter Server with Veeam V7 please?

Is there a KB or something like that which explain the way how to do this?

Thanks for your help :D

B.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18789
Liked: 1650 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by foggy » Nov 18, 2014 11:25 am

With v7 there should not be any issues with backing up vCenter Server, since it automatically handles vCenter database exclusion from VSS processing. Here's also a KB article that can be useful.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23572
Liked: 1691 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 18, 2014 4:27 pm

...and for restores you need to add standalone ESXi host to the backup console prior launching the restore process. :)

Barastam
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 18, 2014 10:38 am
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Barastam » Nov 24, 2014 6:26 pm 1 person likes this post

Thank you guys, it worked !!!
Have a nice day.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

[MERGED] : Best practice to backup & restore VMware VCenter

Post by albertwt » Apr 08, 2015 5:07 am

Hi,

Is there any document or link that I an follow to backup VMware VCenter VM using Veeam Backup v 8.0 ?

what is the best practice that I must follow ?

Thanks
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17415
Liked: 1541 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by veremin » Apr 08, 2015 9:11 am 1 person likes this post

Backup it as an ordinary VM (its database will be automatically excluded from VSS processing) and add a standalone host to a console that would be helpful, should restore be needed.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

[MERGED] Backing up Virtual Windows VCenter using Veeam ?

Post by albertwt » Apr 10, 2015 5:31 am

People,

May I know what are the best practice and the suggested method when backing up the Virtual Windows VCenter using Veeam v8.0 Patch 1 ?

My current VCenter is version 5.1 Update 2 and the SQl Server DB is als in the same VM itself.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Shestakov
Product Manager
Posts: 7281
Liked: 762 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Shestakov » Apr 10, 2015 8:49 am

Hello Albert,
Have you tried to back it up as Vladimir suggested to you above?
Thanks.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by albertwt » Apr 13, 2015 3:20 am

v.Eremin wrote:Backup it as an ordinary VM (its database will be automatically excluded from VSS processing) and add a standalone host to a console that would be helpful, should restore be needed.
ok, so in the Veeam Backup & Replication v8.0 Patch 1 I just add the New Backup job of this one particular VCenter VM and then set the backup schedule to be outside of the other VM backup window.
Do I need to worry about anything else that I may have missed before activating this backup job in Porduction ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Shestakov
Product Manager
Posts: 7281
Liked: 762 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Shestakov » Apr 13, 2015 8:04 am 1 person likes this post

Albert, in a case of desaster, your vCenter will be down, so you need to add a standalone host for the restore.
Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17415
Liked: 1541 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by veremin » Apr 13, 2015 8:06 am 1 person likes this post

And since it's a Windows VM, you might want to enable Application Aware Image Processing for it to have consistent backup. Thanks.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by albertwt » Apr 13, 2015 9:08 am

Shestakov wrote:Albert, in a case of desaster, your vCenter will be down, so you need to add a standalone host for the restore.
Thanks.
Where do I specify this ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by albertwt » Apr 13, 2015 9:10 am

v.Eremin wrote:And since it's a Windows VM, you might want to enable Application Aware Image Processing for it to have consistent backup. Thanks.
ok, so in this case I'd just create new VM backup job and then select the VCenter VM, then select the Application Aware backup (VSS quiesce) due to the fact that SQL Server is installed in this same Windows VCenter VM ?

is there any side effect when the VCenter is backed up the same time with other Production Server after hours ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Shestakov
Product Manager
Posts: 7281
Liked: 762 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Shestakov » Apr 13, 2015 9:13 am

You can add a host to you backup infrastructure using VBR UI. Backup Infrastructure>Add Server. The server will be used as the target in a case of restore.
Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18789
Liked: 1650 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by foggy » Apr 13, 2015 11:37 am 1 person likes this post

albertwt wrote:ok, so in this case I'd just create new VM backup job and then select the VCenter VM, then select the Application Aware backup (VSS quiesce) due to the fact that SQL Server is installed in this same Windows VCenter VM ?
Correct.
albertwt wrote:is there any side effect when the VCenter is backed up the same time with other Production Server after hours ?
There should not be any side effects.

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 459
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

[MERGED] Backing up the (virtual) vCenter

Post by marius roma » Apr 15, 2015 1:19 pm

I have a vSphere 5.0 infrastructure where the vCenter is a Windows 2008 R2 VM.
At the moment the VM is backed up to a NAS using a different backup solution.
Is there any reason to not use Veeam B&R 7.x to back-up the vCenter?
Is there anything to consider before creating a job to back-up che vCenter?
Regards
marius

Shestakov
Product Manager
Posts: 7281
Liked: 762 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by Shestakov » Apr 15, 2015 1:45 pm

Hello Marius,
There is no reason not to use VBR to backup vCenter. Best practices are provided in the current thread and this topic. Please get familiar and ask questions if you have any.
Thanks.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by albertwt » Apr 15, 2015 10:30 pm

foggy wrote: Correct.
There should not be any side effects.
Thanks guys, so in V8.0 shall I backup the VCenter VM through the VCenter or through a stand alone host where the VCenter VM runs ?

This article seems to be outdated: up2v.nl/2011/05/06/backup-of-vcenter-server-sql-database-using-veeam-backup-replication/ but is it still the case in VBR 8.0 Patch 1 (Veeam Backup & Replication 8.0.0.917) ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18789
Liked: 1650 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by foggy » Apr 16, 2015 9:42 am 1 person likes this post

albertwt wrote:Thanks guys, so in V8.0 shall I backup the VCenter VM through the VCenter or through a stand alone host where the VCenter VM runs ?
You can back it up via vCenter server connection.
albertwt wrote:This article seems to be outdated: up2v.nl/2011/05/06/backup-of-vcenter-server-sql-database-using-veeam-backup-replication/ but is it still the case in VBR 8.0 Patch 1 (Veeam Backup & Replication 8.0.0.917) ?
No, this is not the case with v8, since vCenter database is automatically excluded from VSS processing.

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 664
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Best Practises to backup and restore a Vcenter with Veea

Post by albertwt » Apr 16, 2015 10:24 am

foggy wrote: You can back it up via vCenter server connection.
No, this is not the case with v8, since vCenter database is automatically excluded from VSS processing.
Many thanks Alex.

The blog post out there is quite confusing :D
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], FrancWest, Gostev, nmdange and 38 guests