Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby rgs3 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:36 pm

I have a 7TB file server at a remote site I am trying to replicate from site B to site A (where Veeam server lives). We have a pretty fast 1gb link between sites, but the replication never reaches anything close to those speeds, usually around 10MB. It always shows bottleneck @source. What is the best way to get this replicate? Any recommended way to get this with best/highest performance? Should i install a proxy or Veeam server at the source?

Site A <----1GB WAN Link/10ms----> Site B
Veeam Server 7TB VM File Server
20TB iSCSI LUN

Thanks!
rgs3
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:48 pm
Full Name: Richard Shilling

Re: Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:05 pm

Hi Richard, yes, having proxy servers on both sides is always recommended for optimal data retrieval and transfer. Let's see what you could get with the virtual proxy utilizing hotadd on source.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15295
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby rgs3 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:35 pm

Thank you for your response, Foggy, just to be clear, add a WinServer to source (siteB) and add a proxy with Veeam? Then change the job to use proxy?
rgs3
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:48 pm
Full Name: Richard Shilling

Re: Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby csinetops » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:48 pm

With a job that big, I'd also seed the job at site B then kick off the replication.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsp ... liary.html
csinetops
Expert
 
Posts: 111
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:45 pm
Full Name: csinetops

Re: Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:22 pm

You can use any existing VM to serve as a proxy, just add it into Veeam B&R console and assign the proxy role to it. It should be picked up by the job automatically as the closest to the data source.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15295
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Best way to replicate between WAN sites

Veeam Logoby tom11011 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:05 am

Please report back your findings, I am looking to see the performance of other peoples veeam infrastructures for comparison.
tom11011
Expert
 
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest