Building Backup Copy and tape server

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Building Backup Copy and tape server

Veeam Logoby dib » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:23 am

Hi

I'm planning to build a backup copy and tape server on a different location than our production data and primary backup server.

I'm just in doubt on how to install Veeam on the secundary server. Do I have to install the full B&R or is the best way to add the server through the primary server.

If I do it from the primary server, will I then create the backup to tapes job on that server as well? It's the backup copy files that goes to tapes.

Hope somebody can clear this out for me.

/Dennis
dib
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: Building Backup Copy and tape server

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:07 pm

Hi Dennis,

dib wrote:Do I have to install the full B&R or is the best way to add the server through the primary server.

You need to do that on the primary backup server. There is no need to install full blown servers, just add new components (tape server) in the primary backup console.

dib wrote:If I do it from the primary server, will I then create the backup to tapes job on that server as well? It's the backup copy files that goes to tapes.

Yes, all your jobs should be controlled via single backup server to avoid overlaps, conflicts and job failures.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Building Backup Copy and tape server

Veeam Logoby dib » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:12 pm

Thanks. i'll do that.

/Dennis
dib
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:49 pm


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 17 guests