Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
dib
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 07, 2014 1:49 pm
Contact:

Building Backup Copy and tape server

Post by dib » Jan 06, 2017 10:23 am

Hi

I'm planning to build a backup copy and tape server on a different location than our production data and primary backup server.

I'm just in doubt on how to install Veeam on the secundary server. Do I have to install the full B&R or is the best way to add the server through the primary server.

If I do it from the primary server, will I then create the backup to tapes job on that server as well? It's the backup copy files that goes to tapes.

Hope somebody can clear this out for me.

/Dennis

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21629
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Building Backup Copy and tape server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 06, 2017 2:07 pm

Hi Dennis,
dib wrote:Do I have to install the full B&R or is the best way to add the server through the primary server.
You need to do that on the primary backup server. There is no need to install full blown servers, just add new components (tape server) in the primary backup console.
dib wrote:If I do it from the primary server, will I then create the backup to tapes job on that server as well? It's the backup copy files that goes to tapes.
Yes, all your jobs should be controlled via single backup server to avoid overlaps, conflicts and job failures.

Thanks!

dib
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 07, 2014 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Backup Copy and tape server

Post by dib » Jan 13, 2017 1:12 pm

Thanks. i'll do that.

/Dennis

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ta_yoshizumi and 32 guests