can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] Change backup from Incremental to Reverse Increment

Veeam Logoby m.novelli » Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:50 am

With previous Veeam releases was not recommended to change a Backup Job from Incremental to Reverse Incremental, but was suggested to create a new Backup Job with the new settings.

This recommendation still apply to current Veeam Backup 6.5 release? Most of my customers are using Incremental mode but I would like to go back to Reverse Incremental now that the speed has been tweaked by Development Team

Marco
m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 303
Liked: 36 times
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Location: Asti - Italy
Full Name: Marco Novelli

Re: [MERGED] Change backup from Incremental to Reverse Incre

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:59 am

m.novelli wrote:With previous Veeam releases was not recommended to change a Backup Job from Incremental to Reverse Incremental, but was suggested to create a new Backup Job with the new settings.

Marco, not sure where have you heard such recommendations, this is a pretty common operation. Just be noted that a full backup is required (and will be triggered automatically at the next job run) after switching the job to reversed incremental backup mode.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:08 am 1 person likes this post

I too remember that this used to be the case in version 5.0: we did not recommend switching modes. But those issues have long been resolved. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21622
Liked: 2411 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] : Changing off-site backup type starts a full job?

Veeam Logoby mikegodwin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 am

I had my off-site backup running as reverse incremental, and in the process of troubleshooting some network errors I changed it to forward incremental. I changed it back to reverse incremental after resolving the network issues, and now it says my off-site backup is running a full backup, and it looks like it will take around 11 more days to finish. Is that expected, and is there a way I can reconfigure this so it doesn't have to run a full backup? I still see two previous .vbk files intact on the off-site backup repository. How can I use those to seed the off-site backup? I would really prefer to avoid driving this back to the client's office if at all possible.
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:37 am

This behaviour is completely expected, since whenever the change from forward to reversed incremental takes place, a new full backup is needed.

And that’s what you actually see in your particular case – after having changed backup modes, full backup is triggered during first job run.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:50 am

I still see two previous .vbk files intact on the off-site backup repository. How can I use those to seed the off-site backup? I would really prefer to avoid driving this back to the client's office if at all possible.

Yes, you can map your job to the previous .vbk file, thus avoiding run of a new full backup. However, be aware that in this case you will lose all restore points that has been created, since mode changing.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Changing Backup Method mid-chain

Veeam Logoby hongman » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:03 am

Hi

If I were to have a set of backup jobs using forward incrementals with 1 active full backup a week, then change mid week to reverse incremental (forever incremental)

What would happen?

Would Veeam keep the FI jobs as per retention, and start a brand new RI Full Backup, or will it do something clever like commit all the current incrementals and use that to append the ongoing RI's to?
hongman
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm

[MERGED] Change from VRB to VIB ?

Veeam Logoby Wad4iPod » Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:27 pm

Greetings,
VBR 7 ENT fully patched to current revisions.
We want to change our Reverse Incremental backups to forward incremental with Synthetic fulls on Sunday.

Can we change to job properties to reflect this without needing to perform an active full?

Thank you in advance.
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:18 pm

Yes, you can.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] : Switching from incremental to reverse incremental

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:09 pm

If I switch my backups from incremental to reverse incremental, will it run a full backup for each VM on the next scheduled backup job or will it only do a full backup on the day of the week I have specified for each VM?
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 196
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:21 pm

Backup server will create a full backup first. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Change incremental to Rerverse incremental

Veeam Logoby Robvil » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:53 am

Hi,

I would like to change my incremental backup to reverse-incremental, so my latest backup file always is a full backup.

Questions:
1. B&R just finished doing a full synthetic backup on 5TB data - will reverse-incremental use this VBK file as a first full instead of duing a full?

Reason I´m asing is bacause i have a copy job to Cloud and it takes many days for a full backup to transfer to Cloud.

Robert
Robvil
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:41 pm
Full Name: Robert

Re: Change incremental to Rerverse incremental

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:02 pm

If my memory serves me well, a new full backup gets always created after switching from forward to reversed mode regardless of the latest restore point type. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest