can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Tommi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:01 am

can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental without running a new Full backup ??

cheers
Tommi
Tommi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby slidek9 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:16 am

Yes you can (rtfm!)
slidek9
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:00 pm
Full Name: Leon

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Tommi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:20 am

thanks... i belived i could too.. but when i tried it started running a new FULL backup... not cool :)

Tommi
Tommi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:41 am

Tommi, a full backup is required while switching to reversed incremental backup mode. The full run will be automatically triggered at the next job run after switching.

Though if your transformation ("Enable Synthetic fulls") has just completed you may change the backup mode to reversed incremental without having a full pass.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19966
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Tommi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:43 am

ok great..
thanks for info.. it is really apriciated :)

cheers
Tommi
Tommi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Tommi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:49 am

have to ask..
what about the other way around. from reversed incrememnal to incremental /synthetic full ?? full resync again or ??

cheers
tommi
Tommi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:22 am

If you switch from Reversed to Forward Incremental then there is no need to create full backup again, as the latest backup in chain will be already synthetic full.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19966
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby Tommi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:14 pm

great.. thanks alot...
cheers
Tommi
Tommi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini

Switch from Incremental to reverse Incremental

Veeam Logoby jlingg » Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:13 pm

[merged]

Hi - If I switch a backup job from incremental backups to reverse incremental and leave the existing vbk file on the disk - will the backup use the vbk file and create a restore point or will it start from scratch and do a full backup?

thanks
Jason
jlingg
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:19 pm
Full Name: Jason Lingg

Change "reversed incremental" to "incremental"

Veeam Logoby tjalling » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:09 pm

[merged]

Hi,
we make backups of our VM's to 2 different types of storage. An NTFS volume on a SAN for fast backups/restores and USB-HD's (USB 2.0) for safe-keeping offsite.

The backups to USB-HD's are slow, so slow that they're interfering with other scheduled backup/replica jobs. This, I know now, is due to the fact that the jobs are configured to make "Reverse Incremental" backups. See Exchange backup speed for more info.

I would like to know what steps I need to take to change the jobs from "Reverse Incremental" to regular incrementals. Does the change mean I have to start my jobs all over again, or can I change the method without destroying my current backups in te process?

Thanks in advance.
tjalling
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:38 pm
Full Name: Tjalling Soldaat

Change Backup Mode

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:12 pm

[merged]

Can I change a backup job from reverse incremental to Incremental without losing my current backups?


How would this change impact my current job??

Thanks!
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Switching between backup methods

Veeam Logoby damocue » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:23 am

[merged]

Hi all,

I know what involves changing from reversed backup to incremental, but from incremental to reversed I don't know.
For example, I have an incremental backup job with synthetic full, but not rollbacks. To get this job converted to a reversed backup job, what should I do without getting a new backup? Get a synthetic full backup with rollbacks for previous backup chain? Or there isn't any option?

Regards,
damocue
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Location: Valencia, Spain
Full Name: David Molina

[Merged] Using the Transform option in v5

Veeam Logoby jumbo23 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:50 am

Hello,

Can somebody please advise if I need to de-select the 'Transform' option or switch from forward incremental to reverse incremental

The situation is as follows:

The client has selected to keep 9 restore points and for the backup to run daily (forward incrementals, synthetic full every saturday). Because the customer wished to then copy the copy the contents of the backup folder to an external USB drive for offsite we wanted to make sure that only one full backup file would be maintained. With this in mind I selected the 'Transform previous full backup chains into rollbacks

When the full synthetic ran on Saturday it created a new vbk and transformed all the earlier vibs to vrbs

I can now see when I look into the backup folder that I have one vbk file, six vrb files and two vib files (created Sunday and this morning)...I would like to maintain the use of reverse incremental backups and thus remove any forwards. What is the best method for achieving this?

Do I deselect 'Transform' and select 'Reversed incremental', keeping synthetic Fulls for Saturday? How will this affect my current backup files?

Many thanks

Simon
jumbo23
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Simon Lansley

Re: [Merged] Using the Transform option in v5

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:06 pm

jumbo23 wrote:Do I deselect 'Transform' and select 'Reversed incremental', keeping synthetic Fulls for Saturday? How will this affect my current backup files?


Hi, Simon.

In fact, you can’t keep synthetic full and “Reversed incremental” at the same. Moreover, it would be useless to have such functionality. Just think for a little bit, for what purpose do you need to take “synthetic full” when in the case of “reversed incremental” in the end of the job you always have full backup of latest state and chain of previous restore points.

And you can find an answer regarding what will happen after your switching to "Reversed incremental" in the posts above.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13728
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Veeam Logoby jumbo23 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:28 pm

Thanks

Simon
jumbo23
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Simon Lansley

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest