Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Tommi » Nov 10, 2010 9:01 am

can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental without running a new Full backup ??

cheers
Tommi

slidek9
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 20, 2010 5:00 pm
Full Name: Leon
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by slidek9 » Nov 10, 2010 10:16 am

Yes you can (rtfm!)

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Tommi » Nov 10, 2010 10:20 am

thanks... i belived i could too.. but when i tried it started running a new FULL backup... not cool :)

Tommi

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 10, 2010 10:41 am

Tommi, a full backup is required while switching to reversed incremental backup mode. The full run will be automatically triggered at the next job run after switching.

Though if your transformation ("Enable Synthetic fulls") has just completed you may change the backup mode to reversed incremental without having a full pass.

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Tommi » Nov 10, 2010 10:43 am

ok great..
thanks for info.. it is really apriciated :)

cheers
Tommi

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Tommi » Nov 10, 2010 10:49 am

have to ask..
what about the other way around. from reversed incrememnal to incremental /synthetic full ?? full resync again or ??

cheers
tommi

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 10, 2010 11:22 am

If you switch from Reversed to Forward Incremental then there is no need to create full backup again, as the latest backup in chain will be already synthetic full.

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Tommi » Nov 10, 2010 12:14 pm

great.. thanks alot...
cheers
Tommi

jlingg
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 02, 2011 3:19 pm
Full Name: Jason Lingg
Contact:

Switch from Incremental to reverse Incremental

Post by jlingg » Mar 03, 2011 3:13 pm

[merged]

Hi - If I switch a backup job from incremental backups to reverse incremental and leave the existing vbk file on the disk - will the backup use the vbk file and create a restore point or will it start from scratch and do a full backup?

thanks
Jason

tjalling
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 2:38 pm
Full Name: Tjalling Soldaat
Contact:

Change "reversed incremental" to "incremental"

Post by tjalling » Jul 20, 2011 3:09 pm

[merged]

Hi,
we make backups of our VM's to 2 different types of storage. An NTFS volume on a SAN for fast backups/restores and USB-HD's (USB 2.0) for safe-keeping offsite.

The backups to USB-HD's are slow, so slow that they're interfering with other scheduled backup/replica jobs. This, I know now, is due to the fact that the jobs are configured to make "Reverse Incremental" backups. See Exchange backup speed for more info.

I would like to know what steps I need to take to change the jobs from "Reverse Incremental" to regular incrementals. Does the change mean I have to start my jobs all over again, or can I change the method without destroying my current backups in te process?

Thanks in advance.

lobo519
Expert
Posts: 297
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm
Contact:

Change Backup Mode

Post by lobo519 » Apr 04, 2012 8:12 pm

[merged]

Can I change a backup job from reverse incremental to Incremental without losing my current backups?


How would this change impact my current job??

Thanks!

damocue
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Full Name: David Molina
Location: Valencia, Spain
Contact:

Switching between backup methods

Post by damocue » Jun 15, 2012 12:23 am

[merged]

Hi all,

I know what involves changing from reversed backup to incremental, but from incremental to reversed I don't know.
For example, I have an incremental backup job with synthetic full, but not rollbacks. To get this job converted to a reversed backup job, what should I do without getting a new backup? Get a synthetic full backup with rollbacks for previous backup chain? Or there isn't any option?

Regards,

jumbo23
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Simon Lansley
Contact:

[Merged] Using the Transform option in v5

Post by jumbo23 » Nov 19, 2012 11:50 am

Hello,

Can somebody please advise if I need to de-select the 'Transform' option or switch from forward incremental to reverse incremental

The situation is as follows:

The client has selected to keep 9 restore points and for the backup to run daily (forward incrementals, synthetic full every saturday). Because the customer wished to then copy the copy the contents of the backup folder to an external USB drive for offsite we wanted to make sure that only one full backup file would be maintained. With this in mind I selected the 'Transform previous full backup chains into rollbacks

When the full synthetic ran on Saturday it created a new vbk and transformed all the earlier vibs to vrbs

I can now see when I look into the backup folder that I have one vbk file, six vrb files and two vib files (created Sunday and this morning)...I would like to maintain the use of reverse incremental backups and thus remove any forwards. What is the best method for achieving this?

Do I deselect 'Transform' and select 'Reversed incremental', keeping synthetic Fulls for Saturday? How will this affect my current backup files?

Many thanks

Simon

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Using the Transform option in v5

Post by veremin » Nov 19, 2012 1:06 pm

jumbo23 wrote: Do I deselect 'Transform' and select 'Reversed incremental', keeping synthetic Fulls for Saturday? How will this affect my current backup files?
Hi, Simon.

In fact, you can’t keep synthetic full and “Reversed incremental” at the same. Moreover, it would be useless to have such functionality. Just think for a little bit, for what purpose do you need to take “synthetic full” when in the case of “reversed incremental” in the end of the job you always have full backup of latest state and chain of previous restore points.

And you can find an answer regarding what will happen after your switching to "Reversed incremental" in the posts above.

Thanks.

jumbo23
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Simon Lansley
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by jumbo23 » Nov 19, 2012 5:28 pm

Thanks

Simon

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 353
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

[MERGED] Change backup from Incremental to Reverse Increment

Post by m.novelli » Dec 12, 2012 10:50 am

With previous Veeam releases was not recommended to change a Backup Job from Incremental to Reverse Incremental, but was suggested to create a new Backup Job with the new settings.

This recommendation still apply to current Veeam Backup 6.5 release? Most of my customers are using Incremental mode but I would like to go back to Reverse Incremental now that the speed has been tweaked by Development Team

Marco

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18024
Liked: 1530 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: [MERGED] Change backup from Incremental to Reverse Incre

Post by foggy » Dec 12, 2012 10:59 am

m.novelli wrote:With previous Veeam releases was not recommended to change a Backup Job from Incremental to Reverse Incremental, but was suggested to create a new Backup Job with the new settings.
Marco, not sure where have you heard such recommendations, this is a pretty common operation. Just be noted that a full backup is required (and will be triggered automatically at the next job run) after switching the job to reversed incremental backup mode.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24421
Liked: 3402 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2012 12:08 am 1 person likes this post

I too remember that this used to be the case in version 5.0: we did not recommend switching modes. But those issues have long been resolved. Thanks!

mikegodwin
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin
Contact:

[MERGED] : Changing off-site backup type starts a full job?

Post by mikegodwin » Feb 20, 2013 4:50 am

I had my off-site backup running as reverse incremental, and in the process of troubleshooting some network errors I changed it to forward incremental. I changed it back to reverse incremental after resolving the network issues, and now it says my off-site backup is running a full backup, and it looks like it will take around 11 more days to finish. Is that expected, and is there a way I can reconfigure this so it doesn't have to run a full backup? I still see two previous .vbk files intact on the off-site backup repository. How can I use those to seed the off-site backup? I would really prefer to avoid driving this back to the client's office if at all possible.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by veremin » Feb 20, 2013 8:37 am

This behaviour is completely expected, since whenever the change from forward to reversed incremental takes place, a new full backup is needed.

And that’s what you actually see in your particular case – after having changed backup modes, full backup is triggered during first job run.

Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by veremin » Feb 20, 2013 11:50 am

I still see two previous .vbk files intact on the off-site backup repository. How can I use those to seed the off-site backup? I would really prefer to avoid driving this back to the client's office if at all possible.
Yes, you can map your job to the previous .vbk file, thus avoiding run of a new full backup. However, be aware that in this case you will lose all restore points that has been created, since mode changing.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] : Changing Backup Method mid-chain

Post by hongman » Apr 05, 2013 8:03 am

Hi

If I were to have a set of backup jobs using forward incrementals with 1 active full backup a week, then change mid week to reverse incremental (forever incremental)

What would happen?

Would Veeam keep the FI jobs as per retention, and start a brand new RI Full Backup, or will it do something clever like commit all the current incrementals and use that to append the ongoing RI's to?

Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Change from VRB to VIB ?

Post by Wad4iPod » Feb 19, 2015 6:27 pm

Greetings,
VBR 7 ENT fully patched to current revisions.
We want to change our Reverse Incremental backups to forward incremental with Synthetic fulls on Sunday.

Can we change to job properties to reflect this without needing to perform an active full?

Thank you in advance.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 19, 2015 7:18 pm

Yes, you can.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

[MERGED] : Switching from incremental to reverse incremental

Post by ashman70 » Sep 07, 2015 3:09 pm

If I switch my backups from incremental to reverse incremental, will it run a full backup for each VM on the next scheduled backup job or will it only do a full backup on the day of the week I have specified for each VM?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: can i switch from incremental to reversed incremental

Post by veremin » Sep 07, 2015 3:21 pm

Backup server will create a full backup first. Thanks.

Robvil
Expert
Posts: 129
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Oct 03, 2016 12:41 pm
Full Name: Robert
Contact:

[MERGED] Change incremental to Rerverse incremental

Post by Robvil » Jan 09, 2017 10:53 am

Hi,

I would like to change my incremental backup to reverse-incremental, so my latest backup file always is a full backup.

Questions:
1. B&R just finished doing a full synthetic backup on 5TB data - will reverse-incremental use this VBK file as a first full instead of duing a full?

Reason I´m asing is bacause i have a copy job to Cloud and it takes many days for a full backup to transfer to Cloud.

Robert

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Change incremental to Rerverse incremental

Post by veremin » Jan 09, 2017 12:02 pm

If my memory serves me well, a new full backup gets always created after switching from forward to reversed mode regardless of the latest restore point type. Thanks.

thethommyy
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 12, 2018 3:16 pm
Full Name: KDV Support
Contact:

[MERGED] Change a running backup-job

Post by thethommyy » Apr 12, 2018 3:36 pm

Hallo,

I have created an incremental backup-Job and this Job runs.

Can I change this running Job from "incremental" in "reverse incremantal", without change the other parameters like repository and so on,
or have I create a new Job ?

Thanks for your help !
Thomas

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1678
Liked: 211 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Change a running backup-job

Post by DGrinev » Apr 12, 2018 4:35 pm

Hi Thomas and welcome to the community!

You can switch between backup methods without full recreation of the job.
Please review this article in the User Guide about Switching Between Backup Methods. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests