Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
QBC_ICT
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 20, 2012 3:08 am
Full Name: Rick Saul
Contact:

Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by QBC_ICT » Nov 22, 2012 6:03 am

Good afternoon.. Newbie veeam user using 6.5. My question is simple. "Can you pause a veeam backup and resume" , I cannnot see any way to do this ?
regards Rick

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by veremin » Nov 22, 2012 7:30 am

Unfortunately, there is no resume functionality currently.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1626 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by dellock6 » Nov 22, 2012 11:30 am 2 people like this post

I'm not sure I woulde even want this feature, while you are pausing your backup there is a live VM under snapshot, I would personally like to complete the backup as fast as I can. If there would be a pause feature, I would prefer it will finish the VM is saving, and stop before processing the next VM.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

QBC_ICT
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 20, 2012 3:08 am
Full Name: Rick Saul
Contact:

Re: Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by QBC_ICT » Nov 25, 2012 10:48 pm

Thanks for the advice. It would be helpful in certain circumstances.. As you say, between VMs.

gollem
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 16, 2012 7:26 pm
Full Name: Erik E.
Contact:

Re: Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by gollem » Nov 25, 2012 11:06 pm

if your sending data over a slow wan link, you could configure traffic throttling and set it to do only 10kb/second during office hours

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1626 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Can you pause a veeam backup and resume

Post by dellock6 » Nov 27, 2012 1:12 pm

And, you can also apply throttling between proxy/repository traffic. But honestly, on a local lan I would work on backup performances and try to reduce the backup windows, more than introducing those tricks.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], LeoLibertine and 33 guests