Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by joergr »

Hello there,

I just moved a vm (already with vm-hw version 7) from my 40 to my new 41 vcenter (it ran on a esx 4.0 machine and now runs on a esxi 4.1 machine, datastore is equallogic iscsi via esxi software initiator). In the 41 I said i copied the vm when i was asked at the first power-on window. Because of the uid of the vm i edited the b+r job (i removed this special vm from the job and then re-added it back but now with the new focus to the 41 vcenter). Now when i hit run the job i was very surprised to see that it just continued to use cbt and not even said it had to enable cbt at all and the job finished very fast.

Now my question would be: Is that perfectly OK or would that be a bug or has to be specially addressed by the user? Veeam b+r version is the latest 4.1.2 which was introduced at the beginning of august.

best regards
Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26873
Liked: 4354 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Gostev »

Hi Joerg, it would be best to let our support have a look at the logs. May be your job still processed old VM, instead of new VM. Thanks!

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by joergr »

Hi Anton,
just let me know what exactly you need (i never sent you any logs before) and where i should send it to (the email address, please). I don´t think it used the old version because as i said, i re-added the vm from and to the existing backup job. And the snapshot was taken in the new vcenter 4.1 (i monitored it).
Best regards,
Joerg

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24336
Liked: 1884 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Joerg,

If you click "New Topic" there is red link with complete instructions on how to open a support case, please have a look ;)

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Bunce »

be interesting to know the outcome as we're about to migrate to 4.1 also - same vc database but different server.

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by joergr »

just to give you guys a follow up - support looked into it and found all 100% ok, so it was no problem at all to migrate this vm from vcenter 40 to 41. but remember, as i stated in the very first post, you have to re-register it in the b+r job.

best regards,
Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26873
Liked: 4354 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Gostev »

I am not sure that it is 100% OK. Backup job cannot do CBT pass on newly added VM right away, this is impossible. First pass on newly added VM has to be full pass. I'd like to take a look at support case.

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by joergr »

Hi Anton,

ok, let me know the results. The engineer which took the case told me it processed it full the first time after the move so therfor it is okay. Even it said said it used CBT at the live monitoring window.

best regards,
Joerg

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5687
Liked: 2509 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by tsightler »

This is what I figured when I saw your post. It's really not easy to tell via the GUI if the VM had a full backup or a incremental backup via CBT because, assuming CBT is enabled, it always indicates that it used CBT. It's really a point that could use clarification in the GUI.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26873
Liked: 4354 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Gostev »

Joerg, what is the support case number?

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by joergr »

Anton, it is 530272.
Best regards, Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26873
Liked: 4354 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: CBT when moved from 40 to 41 vcenter

Post by Gostev »

I checked with support, and yes the first run was full. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests