Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
fpiscopo
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 6:33 am
Full Name: Frank Piscopo
Contact:

Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by fpiscopo » Mar 11, 2017 9:00 am

I have B&R 5.0 running on some old hardware. While the amount of data to back up was relatively low, chaining of backup jobs could be managed by judicious setting of schedules to prevent running multiple jobs in parallel. But now that data has grown substantially, jobs are of course taking longer to complete, and scheduling has become a bit of a hit and miss affair, frequently causing jobs to run in parallel and bringing the backup server to a near grinding halt, causing the normal backup routines to disk and tape to overflow into the regular office working hours and consequently causing the main hardware to perform in non-optimal conditions. Increasing the spacing in schedules is not an option because that would have the same overflowing effect and this would not be fully utilising the idle hours.

I've practically looked everywhere but couldn't find anything to help me with this. So I thought I'd bring my problem to the forum.

Is there a way to chain backup jobs in B&R 5.0?

Thank you very much for any information you may have.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6738
Liked: 681 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by Shestakov » Mar 11, 2017 10:02 am

Hello Frank and welcome to the community!
Answering your question: there was no job chaining option back to v5.
Recently jib chaining is not considered as best practice any way as jobs work better in parallel.
And of course your backups will work much much faster if you upgrade to newer versions.
Thanks!

fpiscopo
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 6:33 am
Full Name: Frank Piscopo
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by fpiscopo » Mar 11, 2017 12:26 pm

Thanks for the reply Shestakov. That's unfortunate. Is B&R accessible via the command line? I couldn't find anything in Help on this either.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6738
Liked: 681 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by Shestakov » Mar 11, 2017 12:53 pm

Veeam Backup & Replication comes with PowerShell extension — a snap-in to Microsoft Windows PowerShell 2.0. The Veeam Backup PowerShell snap-in allows you to do almost all operations that are available in the user interface.

fpiscopo
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 6:33 am
Full Name: Frank Piscopo
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by fpiscopo » Mar 11, 2017 1:30 pm

Thanks a lot for that, Shestakov. That'll certainly be very helpful and opens the possibility of chaining jobs through the "Post job activity" option.

fpiscopo
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 6:33 am
Full Name: Frank Piscopo
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by fpiscopo » Mar 11, 2017 1:37 pm

I apologise, Nikita, for not addressing you by your first name. I did not realise that the users' full name is shown in the panels to the right. Thanks again.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6738
Liked: 681 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by Shestakov » Mar 11, 2017 4:03 pm

No worries, Frank. Since my last name equals username, that`s fine.
That'll certainly be very helpful and opens the possibility of chaining jobs through the "Post job activity" option.
As far as I remember you may just write the jobs name in the post-job activity to start the next job once this one is finished.
Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16514
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Chaining backup jobs in B&R 5.0

Post by veremin » Mar 13, 2017 10:43 am

Basically, you have to write a simple script similar to the following, save it and set as post-job activity:

Code: Select all

Asnp VeeamPSSnapin
Get-VBRJob -name "Name of job to execute" | Start-VBRJob
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Motty and 29 guests