Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
davis157
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 24, 2017 1:25 pm
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Change tracking failure

Post by davis157 » Sep 25, 2017 6:13 pm

We have a Server 2012 R2 Hyper-V cluster with an EqualLogic iSCSI SAN. Recently, VM backups with application aware processing enabled that target the repository started completing with the warning, "Failed to flush change tracking data. Using full scan incremental run." We weren't running the most recent version of B&R, so we applied the newest update (so we're now at v9.5.0.1038), but it hasn't helped. I found some old discussions that indicated rebooting your cluster nodes would address this, but we recently took care of that through normal patching schedules, and it hasn't helped.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,
Mike

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 437
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Change tracking failure

Post by nmdange » Sep 25, 2017 6:50 pm

I have only seen this happen consistently when you have at least one node in the cluster in a paused state.

davis157
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 24, 2017 1:25 pm
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Re: Change tracking failure

Post by davis157 » Sep 26, 2017 2:19 pm

Yes, that is the case here. But the paused node has been in that state much longer than when these warnings started to show up. Should I infer that if the node is resumed, these messages should go away? Is there a way to get Veeam to "ignore" this?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17915
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change tracking failure

Post by foggy » Sep 26, 2017 4:52 pm

Veeam B&R cannot trust CBT data in case the node is paused, hence the described behavior.

davis157
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 24, 2017 1:25 pm
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Re: Change tracking failure

Post by davis157 » Oct 02, 2017 2:34 pm 1 person likes this post

OK, it turned out the node wasn't paused, but there was a connectivity problem as far as Veeam was concerned. We resolved that, and backups since then are finishing normally.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arnaud.quenum, Bing [Bot] and 51 guests