Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
riker82
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 11:38 am
Full Name: Riccardo Barone
Contact:

Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by riker82 » Oct 04, 2011 11:42 am

Hi,
probably is an already threated argument but I'm using the Veeam replication 5.0.2 to replicate a Huge vm (1,3 TB) from a branch subsidiaries to our headquarters via WAN (but we use the same Virtual Center).

After that , I'd like to backup it up via Netbackup via SAN but anytime I launch the backup job, It tries to backup the source vm instead of the destination one (probably because the UUID is the same). How change the UUID of my replicated vm in order to backup the right vm?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23088
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 04, 2011 12:12 pm

As far as I know you can change the UUID only by cloning VM (using vSphere Client) or by editing .vmx file.

If you could use moref ID instead of UUID to identify virtual machines in Netbackup polices, that would solve you problem, not sure this option is available in Netbackup though.

riker82
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 11:38 am
Full Name: Riccardo Barone
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by riker82 » Oct 04, 2011 12:50 pm

unfortunately I can specify dns Name, display name or UUID in netbackup Policy... I think that Netbackup asks to VC the UUID of the client specified, and the first one who respond is the source one....

Laraine_M
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2011 7:35 pm
Full Name: Laraine MacKenzie
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by Laraine_M » Oct 10, 2011 7:40 pm

Symantec Tech Support has an EEB available to fix this problem.

riker82
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 11:38 am
Full Name: Riccardo Barone
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by riker82 » Oct 24, 2011 10:51 am

Hi,
I've the mentioned EEB (2576023) but unfortunately seems that 7.1.0.2 does not work very well with the incremenatl CBT backup. In fact, in my tests (with 2 different vms) each incremental act as a full.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by ThomasMc » Oct 24, 2011 11:10 am

You could do it this way
http://derek858.blogspot.com/2010/10/ma ... nique.html

but if you change it, would Veeam operate normally? i.e not try and reseed the VM

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23088
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 24, 2011 11:16 am

I'm afraid, this workaround wouldn't help because this ID is stored in the VM vmx file which will be overwritten by a subsequent replication job run.

riker82
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 11:38 am
Full Name: Riccardo Barone
Contact:

Re: Change UUID of replicated VM

Post by riker82 » Oct 31, 2011 7:27 am

Thanks for your help Thomas.

What I could do is to run this job after each replication job.... I need also run the "Netbackup UUID discovery" in order to make It works on Netbackup side

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests