Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by srebucci » Sep 14, 2011 2:57 pm

Hello everybody,
when I initially created my first Lab I was trying the B&R trial so I decided to put the Virtual Lab Datastore on a slow one. Then we decided to buy the product and now I'm using it in production: I recently obtained new space on SAN on fast disks so I wanna to change the location of the datastore. Trying to edit the Virtual Lab I cannot change this settings: do I need to rebuild the Virtual Lab from scratch?

Thanks,
Simone

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by foggy » Sep 14, 2011 3:16 pm

Simone, there is no such functionality and you have to create your vlab anew. Thanks.

srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Re: Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by srebucci » Sep 14, 2011 4:21 pm

Ok I've recreated it but I've lost all my Surebackup jobs 'cause they are connected to it. Luckily, I've saved every settings of them in a Excel file but there is no warning about it....

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24300
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by Gostev » Sep 14, 2011 9:33 pm

Correct order not to lose the jobs is the following:
1. Create the new Virtual Lab.
2. Update existing SureBackup jobs to use the newly created lab.
3. Remove the original Virtual Lab.

Are you positive you did not get a warning when deleting the Virtual Lab that dependent objects will also be removed?

srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Re: Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by srebucci » Sep 15, 2011 8:16 am

Clearly, yesterday I was out of my mind: this morning I tried again to delete the Virtual Lab as you suggested, I have seen the message "Are you sure you want to delete 'Virtual Lab Test' and 1 job linked to it?" and the checkbox "Cleanup ESX". I'm sorry to have doubt of the B&R interface: it's already perfect, simply it's better do that I do tasks like this in the morning ....

Thanks,
Simone

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24300
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change Virtual Lab Datastore

Post by Gostev » Sep 15, 2011 8:20 pm

No worries, I know what you are saying... some days it takes me couple of coffees as well ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allynz, r0bbienz and 29 guests