Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Changing backup configuration

Post by withanh »

When I first set up my backup jobs, I individually picked the VMs from the list. I have since learned that it would be better/easier for changing/adding/removing to select a VM folder. I have folders now created and my VMs are in the appropriate folders.

If I change my backup and replication jobs to look at the folders instead of the individual VMs, will this cause a "full" backup/replication to happen again, or will it know that it is seeing the same machines and continue with the incremental differences?

Thanks!

h
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27144
Liked: 4450 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Changing backup configuration

Post by Gostev »

Hi Darhl, it will know that it is seeing the same machines and continue with the incremental differences. No matter how you populate your job (whether individual VMs, or with containers - like VM folder), VMs are memorized in the jobs' configuration using their unique vCenter IDs, which is why from the job's perspective nothing will really change.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Changing backup configuration

Post by withanh »

Awesome, that's great news!

Thanks Anton!
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests