Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
matman
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 26, 2010 12:30 pm
Full Name: Matteo Mancini
Contact:

Checking free space on source datastore

Post by matman »

Hi all,

I'm trying to backup a VM with serveral disk on 2 different datastore but I always recive this error
0 of 0 files processed

Total VM size: 110.00 GB
Processed size: 0.00 KB
Processing rate: 0 KB/s
Backup mode: NBD without changed block tracking
Start time: 10/26/2010 2:18:59 PM
End time: 10/26/2010 2:19:11 PM
Duration: 0:00:12


Checking free space on source datastore
Object reference not set to an instance of an object


The first 3 disks are located on a datastore with default block size, this datastore has got 133 Gb of free space.
The fourth disk is located on a separate datastore with 4MB block size, this DS has got 33Gb of free space.

Due to differrent block size of the two datastore I've manually change the parameter workingDir on vmx file. Otherwise the esx host wan't able to create the snapshot on the DS with default block size.
Now from vSphere client I'm able to create snapshot but If I try to start the veeam backup's job I recive the above error.

I'm using Veeam b+r 5 64bit, it resides on a separate physical server (vcenter server)
vCenter 4.1
Host esx 4.0.2

Thanks

Matteo

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by Gostev »

Hi Matteo, this looks like some kind of bug due to special configuration w/workingDir. Please send VMX file and full logs to support@veeam.com, so that we can investigate this more closely, and provide you with the hotfix. Thanks!

matman
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 26, 2010 12:30 pm
Full Name: Matteo Mancini
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by matman »

Hi Gostev,

do u need vmware.log or other logs?

thank

Matteo

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24256
Liked: 1863 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by Vitaliy S. »

No, I believe the VMX file will be enough to start troubleshooting.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by Gostev »

Matteo, our support will ask for any additional log files should those be needed after initial review. Thanks!

McClane
Expert
Posts: 106
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by McClane »

Have this problem been solved in the meantime?
I have the same problem with version 5.0.2 when I want to backup a server which has also the workingDir parameter set in the vmx file to relocate the swap file.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24256
Liked: 1863 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, it has been resolved in most of the cases, however if you have an NFS datastore you might still see this issue. As a workaround you need to disable free space check in the GUI to make it work. Thanks.

McClane
Expert
Posts: 106
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by McClane »

Ah, yes it is a NFS datastore. I'll check this out.Thanks.

glaviolette
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2011 6:19 pm
Full Name: Greg LaViolette
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by glaviolette »

Vitaliy S. wrote:As a workaround you need to disable free space check in the GUI to make it work. Thanks.
I have version 5.02.230, where is this "free space check" option you speak of?

Same issue here, workingDir setting to NFS datastore...

Thanks!

-g

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by Gostev »

Under Tools > Options in the main UI window.

glaviolette
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2011 6:19 pm
Full Name: Greg LaViolette
Contact:

Re: Checking free space on source datastore

Post by glaviolette »

Gostev wrote:Under Tools > Options in the main UI window.
Durrrrr! Got it.

My eyeballs were scanning for an option called "free space check" with a little checkbox next to it. Glossed right over the Notifications tab.

Working now. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 33 guests