Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Paule
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 13, 2011 6:59 am
Full Name: Thomas Paulsen
Contact:

Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by Paule » Sep 13, 2011 7:07 am

Hi,
we are planning on using Veeam B&R for the backup of our vSphere Guests.
The backup is working fine so far, when we are using the local datacenter.
But we do have some offsite ESX hosts with VMs on them, which we need to backup, too.

The offsite ESX hosts have a NAS standing next to them, so the source and the target of the backup jobs sit in one datacenter, but the Veeam server is in the other, connected through a small WAN link.

Is there any way to backup VMs on the offsite ESX hosts directly to the offsite NAS without utilizing the WAN link?
I was thinking about the Veeam B&R server as a command server and the work is done completely offsite.

If anyone could help, it would be great.
Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 13, 2011 8:00 am

Hello Thomas,
Paule wrote:Is there any way to backup VMs on the offsite ESX hosts directly to the offsite NAS without utilizing the WAN link?
I was thinking about the Veeam B&R server as a command server and the work is done completely offsite.
Currently the only way to achieve that would be to deploy additional backup server on the remote site, as all traffic has to go through a backup server first. Also I would recommend installing Enterprise Manager that would act as a central management console for both backup servers.

Thank you.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5383
Liked: 2217 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by tsightler » Sep 13, 2011 11:38 am

When V6 is released later this year you will be able to do this, but as Vitaliy stated, with V5 this is not possible without deploying a backup server at the remote site.

Paule
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 13, 2011 6:59 am
Full Name: Thomas Paulsen
Contact:

Re: Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by Paule » Sep 13, 2011 11:42 am

Thanks for the answers.
When will the V6 release be? Or could we use V5 now and update tp V6 with no additional costs?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 13, 2011 11:48 am

All customers with active maintenance agreement in force are eligible to upgrade to v6 (scheduled for Q4) free of charge. If needed, please check your maintenance status with our sales rep.

BrettM
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 01, 2011 10:03 pm
Full Name: Brett Mullins
Contact:

Re: Complete offsite backup without WAN utilization

Post by BrettM » Sep 13, 2011 6:59 pm

As Vitaliy mentioned (though indirectly) you can do this already with V5 and no additional cost, since Veeam is licensed per processor - just deploy a second copy of Veeam B&R on the remote site as a VM, then deploy the Enterprise manager locally and use that as your C&C.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests