Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby sid6point7 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:32 pm

Is there a way to create a backup copy job for the configuration backup? I'd like to have the configuration backup in multiple locations. If you can't use a backup copy job, what are my options for getting the configuration backup to a second repository?

Thanks!
sid6point7
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:09 am
Full Name: Alex Fertmann

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby ds2 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:59 pm

I use a File-Copy-Job for that.
ds2
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 80
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 6:31 am
Full Name: Rene Keller

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby Rick.Vanover » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:23 am

The file copy job is the best option now, but that's a good idea for a feature.

Sent from the Rickatron mobile phone
Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 332
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Full Name: Rick Vanover

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby sid6point7 » Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:00 am

@ds2 Thanks for the suggestion! I set it up and I'm good to go. I was starting to go down the powershell path but the file copy job is way easier and a better option.

@Rick.Vanover do I need to file a specific feature request?

Thanks guys!
sid6point7
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:09 am
Full Name: Alex Fertmann

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:03 am

Nope, as your post itself can be considered as a valid feature request. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14966
Liked: 1121 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby stephen.loera » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:57 pm

I just want to second the notion to include multiple locations for the configuration backup. It would also be nice in a CloudConnect environment to have the tenant configuration backup copied to a service provider repository.
stephen.loera
Service Provider
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 4:59 am
Full Name: Stephen Loera

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:59 pm

The second is already available in version 9.5.
Configuration backup to cloud repository. Added support for performing configuration backups to a cloud repository, except for those backed by a scale-out repository.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14966
Liked: 1121 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Disaster Recovery feature request

Veeam Logoby kevin.cade » Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:06 pm

Hi I'm new to Veeam and am documenting our Disaster Recovery procedure wth Veeam. So far it's really easy and impressive as a product. One thing I'm surprised by is that only one repository for backup config can be scheduled to automatically update.

per my case with Veeam:
Also, as there was only the default repository, we added a secondary one and set it up as the default for backing up the configuration file. You also said that you wish to have the option in GUI, to select multiple repository's for backing up the configuration file. It is better if you post this feature request on our forum, because that way, all our developers and our product managers will consider the possibility of implementing it in the future releases, once they see it in the forum and gathers enough traction (more clients want to be implemented as well).

I shouldn't have to setup a batch file or scheduled task to copy the default repository to another in case my backup server/disk/repository gets lost.

Please give me a feature request number so I can track the progress of this request as I'm sure you and other customers would like the product to handle all our backup and disaster recovery requirements without needing extra scripting and scheduling outside your product.

cheers
KC
kevin.cade
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:02 pm
Full Name: KC

Re: Disaster Recovery feature request

Veeam Logoby hoFFy » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:01 pm

Hi,

I'm not associated with Veeam but I'm asking me why you would like to be able to have the backup config at more than one repository. In a case of a disaster you may be thinking of the backup server itself and the repository have to crash.
The repository itself could be located at another site / building / room which makes it very unusual to go down together with the backup server itself - a case that I haven't heard of so far.
What you can do - and that is the recommended procedure to backup your backup server - install Veeam Agent for Windows on your backup server and choose a third target (only containing the system partition with Veeam on it). Or, but I've never tried that, use another Veeam repository as a target for the VAW job and run a backup copy job with VBR. This way you will have the backup server itself, a repository for the backup of the config, a backup of the backup server and a copy of the backup of the backup server....
VMCE 7 / 8 / 9, VCP-DC 5 / 5.5 / 6, MCITP:SA
Blog: machinewithoutbrain.de
hoFFy
Service Provider
 
Posts: 175
Liked: 27 times
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 1:10 pm
Location: Germany / Lohne
Full Name: Sebastian Hoffmann

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:46 pm

Thanks for the request. Currently you can use file copy job to sync configuration backup offsite.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16488
Liked: 1320 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:20 am

Is there a way to use a File Copy job to copy the Configuration Backup files to a Could Connect repository?
paallergy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sun Dec 24, 2017 11:35 am

Hi Jonathan, unfortunately not, file copy cannot copy files to cloud.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16488
Liked: 1320 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby Poweruser » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:02 pm

setting up a normal job would be one way.
much easier would be to have a checkbox in advanced settings which should be the default:
repo to tape job->advanced-> create backup of configuration and write onto tape during backup
its done very quick, does not use much disk space and would be so handy to keep all data together.

important: current job (itself) needs to be included inside this backup so it would be a kind of "bootstrap"
Poweruser
Expert
 
Posts: 151
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby bucoops » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:53 am

I have to Agree with Poweruser - including a simple option to append the latest configuration backup to a job seems a rather obvious thing to do.

I guess there would need to be an easy way to access that configuration also built into the recovery method?
bucoops
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:37 pm
Full Name: Richard

Re: Configuration Backup Copy Job?

Veeam Logoby Poweruser » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:39 pm

veeam itself told, that it is great (yes it is), that each backup file includes all metadata needed to restore.
anyway, the config is so small it doesnt need time or space, so it would be nice to add it to the file (optional) or just create an file next to the machine backup file or machineS backup file (if not one file per job selected).
Poweruser
Expert
 
Posts: 151
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 45 guests